Blog Hop–Monday Meandering


Photo courtesy of Ginny Brannan

Photo courtesy of Ginny Brannan

Thank you to a very special lady, talented poet, friend and fellow blogger, Ginny Brannan, who invited me to participate in this process, designed to bring talented writer’s of all genres to the attention of others striving to grow in the craft of writing.

Ginny amazes me with her attention to detail, her compelling smile, her skill with form poetry and her love of nature, especially abundant in her New England environment. Be sure to stop by her blog and learn about her and her writing life by reading her entry in this Blog Hop.

Ginny Brannan

A New England country girl at heart, Ginny Brannan resides in Massachusetts with her husband, son and two cats. Encouraged by her best friend, she started writing poetry in 2009. She enjoys writing both form and free verse. She has been published in The River Muse —Art and Literary Journal Edition 1 Vol. 31; ‘The dVerse Poet’s Anthology;’ and is currently awaiting publication of one of her poems in ‘Journey of the Heart: An Anthology of Women’s Spiritual Poetry’ due for release Summer 2014.

You may find her words at: http://insideoutpoetry.blogspot.com

 

These are the Links to Ginny’s publications:

d’Verse anthology on Amazon:

Anthology of Women’s Spiritual Poetry

And now, I jump in to share with you my own writing process, such as it is.

What am I working on?

Aside from maintaining my blog and building a new website on WordPress, I’m in the process of formatting my second novel for publication on CreateSpace. This time around I decided to self-publish. I put out a Kindle Single in the summer, as well as a collection of poetry on Kindle and CreateSpace. It was a great learning experience and quite satisfying. I do have another collection of poetry on the back burner but want to get the novel out first. It’s been waiting for two or three years now. I also enjoy writing articles for dVerse Poets and The Bardo Group. And then there’s life! But I won’t bore you with those details. All I will say is that the whole concept of retirement is a myth—at least it has been for me.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

When I was a docent at an art museum we had an exhibit of Whistler’s work. His mother (of painting renown) used to chide him for being like a butterfly. She wanted him to settle into one style, one genre. This wasn’t what he was about and from that experience he incorporated the butterfly into his signature.

I think I’m a bit like Whistler. I’m not sure I can clearly define my poetry, thus it’s difficult to say how it differs. I don’t want to be confined. Marketing people would tell me that this approach messes with branding, but, I suppose enjoyment of the creative process and exploration of new forms and styles is more important to me (though I would certainly not be adverse. I’m not young, so I don’t anticipate ever really settling down into one mold. This applies especially to poetry. In fiction, I tend to lean toward work that will inspire, that enables the reader to take something away at the end of the work, something that will have an impact on them. My non-fiction work tends to be instructive and of a conversational nature.

Why do I write what I do?

To answer this, I’m going to quote directly from a question asked by the publicist who wrote my press release and bio for my first novel, Winter is Past:

Life gives us experiences, teaches us lessons, gives us wisdom that is not for us to hoard selfishly. Most people accomplish this through parenting. I have no children, so I write. I give birth to books and to poetry.

As for poetry, I inherited musical genes from my mother’s mother who was a concert pianist. I tend to think poetically, rhythmically. This, combined with my love of nature, my life time work as a Registered Nurse in fields dealing with death and dying and my spiritual inclinations seems to make poetry an imperative for me.

How does my writing process work?

When I wrote my first novel, I had a very disciplined schedule. I just wrote with no idea of how the plot would develop. I would go for intensive writing sessions to our winter place in the California desert where, alone, I could get a lot done. For the second novel, my routine stayed pretty much the same with one exception—I completed a rough outline along with character and setting sketches up front and I found a consultant to help me with certain details.

When I began blogging, the time factor influenced my schedule a lot and I began writing more poetry because it was shorter and easier to post. Then I became involved in online poetry communities and poetry emerged as my genre of choice. Also, I find that I can’t spend blocks of time at the computer like I used to due to back pain, so poetry became my passion. I don’t see myself writing another novel. However, the second one, The Sin of His Father, came to me in broad strokes in a dream. If that happens, well, who am I to argue.

I most often write my poetry in a large, unlined sketch book. When I put it on Word, I do the first edit, a second when I post it. After it’s blogged, I continue to update it if I think it’s something I’ll want to publish.

Sorry that I was unable to find anyone who had the desire or time to take up this challenge, and I so understand. If any of you reading this would like to follow up on it, please send me a quick e-mail with a brief bio and photo. Your post would be due on or about Monday June 2nd. I will edit this post to add you on. Thank you.

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop–Monday Meandering

  1. as quite new into creative writing I can understand this a lot.. I always enjoy to read your poems.. and also all your visits and comment on my blog.. the effort in you process is so admirable.. I sit down and play at the computer when I have a free second.. or with my mobile phone.. I have yet to write a poem on paper :-)

  2. I sympathise wholeheartedly about the back pain, and have found the most comfortable way of computering is to pile up at least 4 pillows, and sit up in bed with the laptop on my lap, on an upside-down plastic tray with holes in to let the heat out. If the writing bug strikes hard, I don’t get up very early!!!!

  3. Thank you for your kind words, but even more so for taking the time to answer and share. There is definitely a timelessness to your style. I loved learning of the musical influence too. Thanks so much for participating, my friend. How lovely to get to know more about you!

  4. brian miller says:

    its cool to learn a bit about the writers…i agree on the forms part…when i write short story i try to come up with creative ways to tell the story instead of just straight forward…i am always looking to get better too so

I love your comments and welcome your constructive critique. I don't often reply to comments but do my best to return your visit, so please leave your URL.

