A to Z Challenge by Leo: “X” is for xiii


XIII DEATH

Submitted to Leo’s Z to A Challenge: http://leonnyes.wordpress.com/Β  For today’s theme we had to use the letter “X”–not the easiest one. So I sort of cheated. If I’m not mistaken, the number xiii, thirteen represents the death card in the Tarot. So, yes, here’s another death poem. Please note, I will be away till Tuesday with limited Internet access. I’ll do my best to keep up but may need to return visits next week.

xiii

This morning I frittered two
hours and forty-seven minutes
in the garden, pulling weeds and
deadheading flowers.

In the afternoon I
exfoliated, using homemade
bath salts stored in
a Vlasic pickle jar.
Spent epithelial cells sloughed
from my body, swirled
down the drain.

The summer I was
thirteen, our next-door neighbor
watched us, hands cupped around
her eyes, over
the redwood fence.
(We pretended we didn’t see her).

By the time school started,
she was dead of a brain tumor.

We denied it all.

8 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge by Leo: “X” is for xiii

  1. Rumya says:

    A very smart take on the X. Would never have occurred to me that it could be used in this way. Thank you for the tip!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Nanka says:

    Whatever will be, will be…The future’s not our’s to see…Que sera sera!! πŸ™‚
    Smart take on the X!!

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Charmingly creative solution to “X.” Nicely done.

    Like

  4. Jingle says:

    lovely one..
    thanks for the inspiration…

    let me know if you want to be in poets rally week 32.
    cheers.
    xxx

    Like

  5. i didnt think I’d see Romanization of the letters πŸ˜‰ but clever how you’ve used it..!

    Like

  6. shalmalee says:

    Very creative…i loved the way you used X πŸ™‚
    http://mysoul111.blogspot.com/

    Like

  7. KB says:

    X is indeed a difficult letter to use but you did a wonderful job here.

    Like

  8. Teresa says:

    What a poem. I like your creative use of the letter X, and the poem really is good–it’s amazing how different we might ask if only we knew what the future held.

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/silent-night/

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

