Big Tent Poetry–“Neon Kisses”


The rain came down

Submitted to Big Tent Poetry: http://bigtentpoetry.org/  With thanks to Mallery for the first line/prompt.

 

 

 

 

Neon Kisses

I didn’t notice the color of your jacket
or your eyes.
Battered by rain and wind
we walked side-by-side.
Neon lights reflected on wet asphalt
blinked their messages in blurred colors.

Nor did I notice where you took me
or that we had to wait for hours.
Your words hung, suspended in air
like notes of a symphonic chorus,
at times harmonic chords,
reverberated, crashing down around me.

I didn’t notice that the rain had stopped,
leaving in the air a fragrant breath
of moon-fresh night.
Nor did I grasp the fact that when you left
the cold closed in, enveloped me like a shroud.

The only thing I hold in memory:
kisses. The taste you left upon my lips,
your touch,
your smile.

I am away till Tuesday–will visit other submissions when I get home.

9 thoughts on “Big Tent Poetry–“Neon Kisses”

  1. Jingle says:

    Happy Vacation…
    cheers.
    No worrying about the requirement.

    Happy 90th birthday to your dear mother.

    Like

  2. Deb says:

    I’m not always keen on love poems, but this one was lovely. Love how the neon lights pervade, the reflection of scene and experience.

    Like

  3. trisha says:

    you painted a beautiful picture. the last few lines were the most beautiful ones.

    Like

  4. revbillcook says:

    Very nice. I enjoyed this, particularly the way you ended the poem. – bill

    Like

  5. souldipper says:

    The poem made me question myself – if I was walking in that photo, I may forget to look…

    I also liked the idea of noticing the change in temperature when he left. Good sensing.

    Like

  6. Jamie Dedes says:

    Perfect lovely and romantic. Remembering the kisses. Yes. One would.

    Wonderful photo as well.

    Hope it’s a good time off.

    Stay well.

    JamieDedes

    Like

  7. Ollin says:

    I love the part where your described his words, hanging in the air. Good poem! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

