One Shot Wednesday: Gone with a Sigh


Cover of "Gone with the Wind"

Cover of Gone with the Wind

I was honored to have this poem featured on Jingle’s Poetry Potluck this week, so now I’m posting it on my blog to feature for One Shot Poetry. Hope you enjoy it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gone with a Sigh

Near-winter dampness invades the room,
infects our space, lingers in the air like
twinning wisps of frigid breath and
smoke from your cigarette.

You cannot speak or won’t.
Perhaps you heard me. Maybe not.
Or did you seal your ears against the sound
of my newfound understanding?

By the ice-etched window, quiet still,
you stand, scratching petroglyphs
with your fingernail, eyes fixed on a quail
huddled in the branches of a juniper.

Remembering how I wept
when first I read those words,
(only a girl, I could not comprehend
an ending without joy) I sigh.

And though you do not say them now—
not my dear, nor brutal acclamation,
silence screams across the room. It’s true,
you do not give a damn.

But unlike Rhett, you stay—
a witness to hope’s dying whisper.
You do not stir the embers struggling
to give warmth. Our fireplace goes cold.

Jingle’s Poetry Potluck: http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

One Shot Poetry: http://oneshotpoetry.blogspot.com/

18 thoughts on “One Shot Wednesday: Gone with a Sigh

  1. lmcgregor says:

    absolutely loved this line “a witness to hope’s dying whisper.” just fantastic

    Like

  2. wow! very well done! “silence screams across the room” — that is just brilliant writing! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. Reflections says:

    Ouch, some painfully long silence across the room, as etching in the iced glass… beautiful words calling for music in its presentation… highlighting but the pain of a love grown cold.

    Like

  4. Loved it the first time I read it,loved it now!!

    Oh,the agony of love!Eric is right…I would have loved a background music for this.

    Great work,Victoria!

    Like

  5. Shashi says:

    A beautiful verse.. touched me deeper.. I enjoyed your words ..
    ‘Or did you seal your ears against the sound
    of my newfound understanding?’
    Like my own.. thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. Kavita says:

    When faced with betrayal (or loss or simply nothingness), such is the state of the mind… (sigh)
    I am happy you put this poem up on your site, Vic… it’s so beautiful even when read the third (or it fourth?) time… Kudos, my friend..

    Like

  7. Steve Isaak says:

    Suitably bleak word choices = mood effective writing. You neatly, with varying details, summed up my brief marriage a few years ago, esp. with the lines: “Or did you seal your ears against the sound/of my newfound understanding?”

    Exemplary stuff.

    Like

  8. brian says:

    this one kits heavy…esp that last bit about the fireplace growing cold…tears….

    Like

  9. Eric says:

    A very touching piece. I almost wish you had one of those music player widgets playing “Dying Embers” by Adrian Legg.

    Superb One Shot!

    Like

  10. hedgewitch says:

    Nice mix of the book reference, which made me remember that my reaction was the same–such amazement that Scarlet got what she deserved on so many levels and still never saw it coming–then switching to a very different and far more mature understanding of how much worse it is to accept nothing than walk away from something…liked it a lot.

    Like

  11. Talon says:

    The last stanza – wow! It’s painful.

    Beautiful writing, Victoria.

    Like

  12. marousia says:

    You invoke Scarlett and Rhett so well – and “petroglyphs” is such a lovely word. Thank you

    Like

  13. moondustwriter says:

    i guess the Rhett/ Scarlet love could be a difficult one
    some of your words – the silence feed into mine

    here

    Thanks for sharing this also with One Shot

    Moon smiles

    Like

  14. poemblaze says:

    Well written poem. Still won’t make me watch Gone With The Wind any time soon. LOL

    Like

  15. Bodhirose says:

    So beautifully expressed–so delicately told–the end of a relationship. I love this.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

