Sunday 160–To Awaken


Photo: David Slotto

Submitted to Monkey Man’s Sunday 160: http://petzoldspracticalprose.blogspot.com/  In which you submit a poem or short prose using exactly 160 characters, including spaces.

To Awaken

If so awake
to feel each drop of rain
pummeling my body,
to hear my lover’s
gentle snores,
to see rays of
sun bounce off my
dog’s white fuzz—
would I
explode in ecstasy?

The little dog in this photo, a long-haired Jack Russell Terrier, was named Ascot. He was our first (of five). He lived with us sixteen years until he died, two years ago, the day after Thanksgiving. We miss him!

14 thoughts on “Sunday 160–To Awaken

  1. Pippin says:

    I can relate to your loss. My own Jack Russell died this year after we spent 15 years together. I was so heart broken I put together footage of him being a wild character and uploaded it to YouTube. So now when I miss him I just watch the video and smile. You can laugh at Nik too by clicking on my name. For some reason I really missed him over Thanksgiving.

    Like

  2. Mary Bach says:

    That is just lovely. I think that is a real poet’s response – to explode in ecstasy.

    Like

  3. trisha says:

    adorable poem. thats a cute little dog.

    Like

  4. Heart says:

    Great heart warming tribute Victoria.. I am sure he was much loved around the house!:)

    Like

  5. Alice Audrey says:

    I don’t know if you would explode in ecstasy, but I bet your dog would.

    Like

  6. Jingle says:

    that’s beautiful…
    your words are magical…
    lovely 160…

    Like

  7. Katherine says:

    sounds magnificent

    Like

  8. Bodhirose says:

    Yes, I think you might just explode with ecstasy. Loved this 160.

    What a little darling–he was quite an elderly dog at 16. I’m sorry he’s no longer with you…

    Like

  9. moondustwriter says:

    life at it’s fullest is the picture you show and wrote about

    thanks

    sorry about your baby

    Like

  10. brian says:

    i think it would be a very nice explosion…lol

    Like

  11. Cheryl says:

    A moment to relive time and again. Such a sensuous piece.

    Like

  12. dulce says:

    Hey that way you’ve captured such a moment… just another of so many, yet , made special WOW wow & WOW!

    Like

  13. Claudia says:

    oh i love the lovers gentle snores…nice 160

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

