Lady Nimue’s Months-of-the-Year Challenge: Creator


Submitted to Lady Nimue’s Months-of-the-Year Challenge: http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/challenge1-months-of-the-year-challenge/

Creator
March 2010

Stepping out of myself
into a mind of my own creation,
the mind of a man,

pushing, penning toward
the finish line, toward
the last chapter, paragraph,
sentence, word,

toward the climax,
the denouement,
THE END.

And now the manuscript
sits untouched, neglected,
waiting for the surgeon’s scalpel.

The author meantime
plays with poetry.

Last year in the desert I set a firm goal for myself to finish the first draft of The Sin of His Father by the end of April. A good deal of time and energy went into accomplishing this task and it happened. I even had time for a quick edit. When I returned to Reno, I gave it to a writing friend for edit and critique. She was so good about getting it back to me in a timely manner and now I’m starting to feel really guilty about not tackling the huge task that awaits me. So, in a month, when I’m back in the desert….

As an aside: I’ve written this novel from a male point of view.

9 thoughts on “Lady Nimue’s Months-of-the-Year Challenge: Creator

  1. Nanka says:

    WOW!! that is impressive and must have be an effort to view from a male perspective.
    i’ll surely enjoy your poetry till then πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Dennis says:

    This is quite a treat!

    “The author meantime
    plays with poetry.”

    Simply brilliant!

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    Here’s to you completing your task at hand when the time is right–and please continue to play with poetry!

    Like

  4. Jingle says:

    bravo.
    I ever knew what a man really think or write..you transformed yourself from a lady to a guy magically here. well done.
    πŸ™‚

    fantastic efforts..
    keep shining..
    I truly admire your energy in writing, I recall the first time we met, you instantly joined my poets rally and commented for many poets…you keep rolling until today.
    count how many poems you have written so far, maybe up to 100,
    collect them, place them in a book someday…

    Happy Wednesday!
    Happy Writing!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks, Jingle. I’m behind on comments–a busy week. I’ve actually got a few hundred poems written and do hope to publish them some day. A few have been in lit journals. More than likely in January I will have to cut back on poetry a bit to work on editing my novel. I’ve been using poetry as an avoidance technique…a wonderfully fun one. I will more than likely have to limit to 2-3 communities to participate in duing that time. Thanks as always for your encouragement, my friend.

      Like

  5. ladynimue says:

    Wow !! a novel .. that something i have always wanted to write but realized that am better at shorter writing assignments, i stuck to poetry πŸ™‚
    Will wait for your book to be published and to read it along a cool drink in the summers πŸ˜€

    And i realized that i too write at times from man’s point of view but maybe its easy for poetry .. I hope it was fun writing for you πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. trisha says:

    fantastic. i loved the taut style of the poem depicting a writing being created.

    Like

  7. I’m finding that writing from the male perspective is something of a challenge. It’s probably good for my character though. – Truly me, not the fictional Andrew.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

