Rediscovery-Jingle’s Poetry Potluck and One Shot Wednesday


Prayer is the language

Submitted to Jingle’s Poetry Potluck. The theme this week is dreams and visions. Check out the many poets at http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

and to One Shot Wednesday at http://oneshotpoetry.blogspot.com/

Rediscovery

Emerging from this fog
(induced by absinthe or perhaps unknowing?)
I fly in my balloon, the landing rough
in rockiest terrain.

Quixote I am not but savor
tastes of honey from the gentle smoothness
of earth’s ivory skin.

I deconstruct the faith
that, as a child gave cause for desperation,
pursue Elijah’s chariot, with fiery wings
to worlds oblivious of tragedy,

return like Sandalphon or Phoenix
brilliant in life’s kaleidoscopic dance
of raging color.

Withhold your judgment now, dear friend.
The day may come when, too, you will embrace
my vision, and welcome in the Logos.

Note: This poem was written using the prompt I posted on Monday. You may want to check it out. The random selection of words contributes a bit to the obscurity. I confess to adding words to this one for the sake of some cohesiveness. In the bible, the prophet Elijah was taken into heaven in a fiery chariot. It is said that he has returned to earth as the Archangel Sandalphon who is the overseer of the below direction (the earth). Logos is Greek for Word and is used in this context to refer to Jesus as the Word of God as you will read in the first chapter of the Gospel of John. Eventually I will, no doubt, revise this poem and lose of few of the arbitrary words. Should you decide to try this prompt, you would make me happy if you left a link in comments.

32 thoughts on “Rediscovery-Jingle’s Poetry Potluck and One Shot Wednesday

  1. mairmusic says:

    Very interesting word play!

    Like

  2. Talon says:

    There was an old-world feel to this poem that I really enjoyed. I think you did an awesome job incorporating the words.

    My potluck: so maybe

    Like

  3. Like Suzicate I appreciate the explanation.Most of the characters am not familiar with so I love it coz I learned ,again.

    Your choice of words are just brilliant!Thanks,Victoria!

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Thank you for the explanation as I did not know the reference of Sandalphon. I love the way you built from Quiote to Elijah’s chariot and then with the final stanza of truth and nonjudgment…excellent on all levels.

    Like

  5. I’m with Claudia… Great write. Nice one shot. Love and Light, Sender

    Like

  6. deLiderata says:

    isnt it a tough thing, to deconstruct the faith?

    Like

  7. Bill Sigler says:

    Very interesting – I think also of Ezekiel’s Wheel – logos is creation which is very powerful and scary to our linear human minds.

    Like

  8. Nicely done

    Cheers!

    Like

  9. Eric says:

    Word up! (Sorry, just a saying from the 80’s)

    Nice One Shout!

    Like

  10. I found the obscurity a good addition to the poem. It all flowed well together, had you not mentioned the prompt in the afterword, I never would have guessed. There is a very pleasing sound to this poem. Maybe the obscure words had a stronger effect than anticipated? Excellent poem.

    crb.

    Like

  11. Claudia says:

    earth’s ivory skin….like this and the fiery chariot

    Like

  12. brian says:

    nice…love the inclusion of logos…a word that i love…

    Like

  13. kaykuala says:

    This is a lovely write, a biblical episode is educating. Great!

    Like

  14. megzone says:

    wowww i love this..
    lovely one dear

    M here from Jingle’s Rally

    Like

  15. You did a wonderful job with this. I do love the prompt idea.

    Also love “deconstructing ……….”

    Like

  16. booguloo says:

    Awestruck and babbling….

    Like

  17. A.B. Thomas says:

    An inventive way to use random words, and it worked extremely well. I also liked the mythological theme of it too!

    Like

  18. Bodhirose says:

    Superb, Victoria. Love “I deconstruct the faith…”

    I want to try again using this creative way of choosing words at random for writing.

    Like

  19. hedgewitch says:

    Nice one, Victoria, despite the arbitrariness of word restrictions. I think they worked well here to give your poem an even more mystical, might I say, Apocryphal feel. Some very good language, too–as others have already quoted. i like the last stanza, with it’s almost Ancient Mariner overtones, myself.

    Like

  20. marousia says:

    Interesting poem – you made me unpack the meaning. I really enjoyed the first stanza:
    Emerging from this fog
    (induced by absinthe or perhaps unknowing?)
    I fly in my balloon, the landing rough
    in rockiest terrain.

    Like

  21. Kavita says:

    Woohoo!! I think your choice of words for this poem is perfect for the potluck theme! Dreams couldn’t have been described any better than you just did!
    Super interesting, and most appealing to the senses too…

    Like

  22. Jingle says:

    wow, cute.
    A+

    Like

  23. “Quixote I am not but savor
    tastes of honey from the gentle smoothness
    of earth’s ivory skin.”

    such a gorgeous piece of writing there — I liked the “Quixote” reference and the line “earth’s ivory skin” and the lines in the third stanza —

    “I deconstruct the faith
    that, as a child gave cause for desperation,” — well said.

    You have a great talent for weaving words my friend. I’m quite taken with this poem. Your choice of language and use of them is masterful, really! Very, very enjoyable read. I’m going to keep a keen eye on your blog from now on.

    BTW, didn’t realize I hadn’t been to your blog when I read your comments — sorry for the delay. 🙂

    Like

  24. PinkLady says:

    “return like Sandalphon or Phoenix
    brilliant in life’s kaleidoscopic dance
    of raging color”

    a fiery resurgence… truly empowering piece! well done, victoria!

    Like

  25. Nanka says:

    Biblical and interesting read!!

    Like

  26. trisha says:

    breathtaking!
    can i join your journey please?

    Like

  27. Morganna says:

    Very interesting. I like it.

    Like

  28. ScottlB says:

    Excellent poem Liv2, like this

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

