Live Today–A Sestina


Fireworks Finale

Image via Wikipedia

Submitted to Riika Infinity’s 2011 Wish List Challenge: http://riikainfinityy.com/2010/12/28/wishylissy-for-2011/ in which we were challenged to think about what we want to have, do and wish for this upcoming new year.
 

I chose to do a sestina, choosing as the end words those that represent my deepest wishes:

Truth–to live without illusion, to understand and speak my truth;
Words–to express these truth’s in my writing and speech;
Presence–to be aware of the Divine in creation;
Bliss–to live in joy;
Now–to live in the present moment;
Earth–to enjoy the gifts of creation
 

Live Today
A Sestina

I ask for strength that I may live in truth,
that clarity may seal my every word.
My life unfolds within the silent Presence
of the Divine—it’s here that I find bliss.
Awake, I feast in the eternal Now
yet revel in the offerings of earth.

I taste and touch and breathe the joys of earth,
partake of what I see of beauty’s truth:
the flight of birds, the frosty tendrils now
that etch the glass and hold my every word
displaying beauty on the face of bliss.
I bow before the Godhead’s sacred Presence,

surrender to the very hope of present
pledges offered to the waiting earth,
dance with abandon to the sounds of bliss—
chords that echo in harmonic truth.
Succumbing to the utterance of Your Word
that in my own, another may find Now.

And can it be that only in the Now
I may be welcomed in the blessed Presence,
attend in faith the murmur of the Word?
My sure companion of this walk on earth
will cloth me in a garment spun of truth
that I may wear the wedding garb of bliss.

Because it is God’s will we drink of bliss,
I choose to stride along the path of Now,
relish the textures, colors true—
the vivid palettes painted by the presence
of rainbow’s arc bending towards the earth,
soaking rain that nourishes the word.

You strip away illusions with your words,
comfort my exposure to the truth.
Into deep sleep I fall, await Your presence,
awaken to the touch of brilliant bliss.
At last, You come, I rise unto the Now
and bending, touch my lips upon the earth.

You speak Your truth within a whispered word.
Today Your presence seizes me in bliss
enjoying in the Now my moment on this earth.

 
14 thoughts on “Live Today–A Sestina

  1. […] Live Today – A Sestina (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. yelena m. says:

    This poem is a delight to read, yet so deep and insightful. Thanks for sharing your wisdom. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    As mentioned by others, this reads like a prayer. Very beautiful and heartfelt. Living in the now and for the now is so important, I think.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. This reads like a prayer from the heart, beautiful, sincere and direct, very nice 🙂 Thanks for the visit!

    Like

  5. What beauty flowed from your heart and your mind. You rock, girl!
    Star

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    So beautifully expressed–filled with insight. May all your wishes come true and continue for you, Victoria.

    Like

  7. trisha says:

    this is awesome victoria. your poems are really fabulous. perfect in form and splendid in depth.

    Like

  8. A wise, wonderful, lyrical poetic prayer. Lovely, Victoria.

    The gifts are already yours since you had the perspicacity to ask for them.

    Wonderful and well done.

    Like

  9. Amazing, this is my first time reading a sestina! Wisdom flow within the whole poem, I love it!=D Thank for linking in to the challenge, a great way to start a perfect new year! Happy New Year!=D

    Like

  10. quid says:

    I find this the most challenging form of poetry; how beautiful for you to fulfill the difficulties, but in such an effortless way. It felt like the poem just came from your heart.

    Just beautiful.

    quid

    Like

  11. Thank you, Uma…happy and creative New Year!

    Like

  12. uma.a says:

    the writer is you is truly wonderful.I enjoyed every bit of it,Nice

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

