Monday Morning Writing Prompt


Kiss (mother version)

Image by Leonid Mamchenkov via Flickr

This past week, Big Tent Poetry had us write a list poem. I chose to write a list of words I’ve never (that I can recall) used in a poem. They are fine words and I’ve been challenged to use them all in a wordle. That would be quite a feat–there are 26 of them, one from each letter of the alphabet, but…

For today’s prompt, I’d like you to choose one (or more if it suits you) of these word to use it the title or theme of a poem. To see the words, you can link up to the poem at https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/words-ive-never-used-in-a-poem/

Here’s my effort:

Jam

A Haiku

Sticky fingers—jam

(cherry). Now lick your lips, dear,

then you can kiss me.

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt

  1. poetrydiary says:

    Wonderfully evocative! Just as a haiku should be with a whole story and scene in so few words.

    Like

  2. Bodhirose says:

    I agree with Jamie–a Mom post–cute as can be. What mother can’t relate to this?

    Like

  3. trisha says:

    this is a super cute poem 🙂

    Like

  4. dancingfreak says:

    sweet u got the 5 , 7 ,5 part of the haiku right 🙂

    Like

  5. This is such a mom post. I love it. Takes me back.

    Nice job with the haiku.

    Happy 2011 …

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

