Monday Morning Writing Prompt


CNY Decorations #3

Image by chooyutshing via Flickr

Chinese New Year is just around the corner. 2011 is the Year of the Rabbit and it begins on February 3rd, 2011. For today’s prompt, let yourself be inspired by that celebration or anything Chinese. You can choose a rabbit if you like. You might want to browse the net for inspiration or, as I did, go to a local Chinese restaurant and write your poem with eyes wide open. Here’s mine.

Chinese New Year

Brocaded Buddhas
catch a ride
on the hostess’ bodice.
You shave splinters from your chopsticks and
watch the waiter caress pancakes
with plum sauce.

Please consider adding a link to your poem in the comments of this post. Thank you.

7 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt

  1. trisha says:

    a very interesting theme victoria, here is mine:

    http://mydomainpvt.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/free-soul-7th-january-2011/

    just loved your poem. its beautiful and colourful like the image you have chosen to go with it.

    love your prompts. 🙂

    Like

  2. […] IN HONOR OF CHINESE NEW YEAR and Victoria’s, Liv2Write2Day Monday Writing Prompt, be inspired by anything Chinese. Easy for me since I love all things […]

    Like

  3. Wonderful! I can smell all the good cooking in San Francisco China town. And such an appropriate prompt. Okay, see mine for tomorrow.

    Thanks, Victoria!

    Like

    • Thanks for ALL your comments, Jamie. I’m thinking of you as our NV team plays in SF (in the background). I will look forward to roaming Chinatown with you. Such a fun place. There are things I miss about living in the Bay area. There is so much to experience.

      Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I hope others participate too–thank you, Victoria. My pleasure.

    Like

  5. Bodhirose says:

    I enjoyed your poem, Victoria–just what you would see in a Chinese restaurant.

    I decided to give it a try based on a family outing we had while my Dad was alive. He wanted to join in the festivities at a local Chinese restaurant–we watched the performances and then all ate dinner together. It was fun.

    Here’s my link: http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/year-of-the-rabbit/

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

