Vigil–One Shot Wednesday


Sleepless Night

Image by Vardhana via Flickr

Vigil

New-moon blackness.
Staccato rain drops harass window panes,
pummel the glass like bullets.

Wind-whipped branches
batter the back gate.
An owl cries.

Damp linens, wrinkled furrows
fondle a weary body tossed
left,
right,
awake.

Eyes open to nothing.
Minutes prowl in slow motion.
Night unfolds in inches.

Faint light seeps through half-opened blinds
as dreams drop by at last,
moments before daybreak.

Submitted to One Shot Wednesday: http://onestoppoetry.com/

17 thoughts on “Vigil–One Shot Wednesday

  1. I haven’t had one of those nights in a while … but it’s a torture when you get one, digging deep into your mind to find the reasons that keep you awake and by the time you realize that most of the time there is no reason the sun shows up and you have to get up and continue with the day, when all you want to do is close your eyes and catch those dreams you were chasing unsuccessfully all night!

    I want to thank you for all your comments on my posts!

    Like

  2. Dreams drop by at last … Yes! Sometimes that’s just the way it goes. Swept me away into the rainy night.

    Like

  3. ladynimue says:

    Dreamy , real and yet so much fantasy .. i liked reading this ..

    Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I’ve had many a night like that–or awaken too early and then can’t get back to sleep until just before the alarm goes off–torture. You described the discomfort so clearly.

    Like

  5. Kavita says:

    Aaahh. I can so relate to this one, Victoria.. have had many a night like this..
    But I must say, the calmness of the night (even with the heavy downpour outside) feels like bliss at times.. And then, the descent of dreams.. (sigh)… isn’t that just beautiful!?!?

    What a ride this was, my friend!! With your words and that imagery, it felt all too real…
    Bravo!!

    Like

  6. pamela says:

    Victoria,
    I have felt that way many nights.
    Wonderful imagery.

    Like

  7. Oh, I hate (and I know hate is such a strong word,) let me say, I am NOT a fan of the odd night when real sleep comes just before waking. Yuck!

    Extremely well related here.

    Sure hope I sleep tonight after reading this! 🙂

    xo

    Like

  8. Reflections says:

    Vivid stunning images, can feel the tiredness, the longing for sleep, then the peace of finally:
    Faint light seeps through half-opened blinds
    as dreams drop by at last,
    moments before daybreak.

    Wonderful write.

    Like

  9. Carl says:

    Fabulous. You set me down in the scene. I love, love, love the last 6 lines. Beautiful.

    Like

  10. kolembo says:

    Ah love it. Each stanza rocks. I’m lying in bed with my eyelids stapled to my forehead. It’s a very dense night.

    Like

  11. trisha says:

    i was very scared of ghosts for years- it reminded me of those days when i used to lay awake all night and fall asleep right at dawn 🙂

    fabulous portrait of a stormy night.

    Like

  12. tigerbrite says:

    I could hear the rain on the window and felt the discomfort of a night fever ended at last with exhaustion into sleep.

    Like

  13. Shashi says:

    So vivid and perfect… I enjoyed your lines…
    ‘Eyes open to nothing.
    Minutes prowl in slow motion.
    Night unfolds in inches.’
    Great one shot…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/02/whispers-tanka-and-search-for-being.html
    Connect with me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

  14. Olivia says:

    What a suspended portrayal!
    This definitely feels like how it is when I tell myself that I still have time before it’s light around.. Yet another reason why I don’t like summers! It’s day break at 4.45 in the morning! Winters are so much better..

    BTW, I have a thing for Owls.. 🙂 So I loved your words..
    Love xxx

    Like

  15. signed .............bkm says:

    I have been there as most of us have…your vivid desription brings memory back to such times….hope dreams come tonight, wonderful restful dreams…bkm

    Like

  16. brian miller says:

    first, i love the word fondle…

    second, i dont like being up all night just laying in bed…i usually get up when i becomes pointless…

    but i am glad you found your dreams…just beforethe alram..lol…ugh.

    nice write…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

