We Are–Big Tent Poetry


Daisies

Image via Wikipedia

We Are

I am the towering elm
that stretches up to touch the sky,
embracing the Divine.
I send my roots into Earth Mother’s
soul for nourishment.

You see the genus Ulmus.
My doubly serrated leaves
present asymmetric at the base
and at the apex, acuminate.
A true hermaphrodite,
I’m pollinated by the wind.

It is a lowly frog you hear.
I sing my song of praise
in good times and in bad.
To some I am a sign of
cleansing for the spirit.
I flourish in the Mother’s waters.

You see amphibian,
the order Anura.
Four thousand (more) the species.
You study my morphology, ecology.
The ease with which Earth’s toxins
permeate my skin,
pass into my bloodstream,
worries you. Me too.

I am a simple daisy, opening
to the sun and spreading joy.
The children use my petals
to discern true love.
And happy smiles welcome me
as I adorn your gardens with my colors,
your homes with my grace.

You see the Kingdom Plantae,
look beyond my beauty
to my usefulness
as cooking oil, seeds and tea.
I travel everywhere, except Antarctica.
You know my energy is stored as inulin
and that my seeds
have little endosperm or none.

We are as one, the two of us—
science and creation.
Together we must tell of Mystery,
discover Truth and save
our Mother Earth.

Submitted to Big Tent Poetry: http://bigtentpoetry.org/  This week’s theme is science.

32 thoughts on “We Are–Big Tent Poetry

  1. Erin says:

    I love the alternating between ” I am” and “You see.” Wonderful!

    Like

  2. Judy Roney says:

    Beautifully crafted. I have no suggestions. I love that lowly frog<> coming on the scene, all about creation and science.

    Like

  3. Judy Roney says:

    This is great. I love <It is a lowly frog you hear.
    I sing my song of praise
    in good times and in bad.
    To some I am a sign of
    cleansing for the spirit.
    I flourish in the Mother’s waters> That lowly frog all about science and creation along with every thing else.

    Like

  4. Mike Patrick says:

    You have done a stellar job combining right brain (science) and left brain (poetry) activities, to create something wonderful. It would have given me whiplash.

    Like

  5. Deb says:

    I like the counterpoint making A Whole. Beautiful idea, lovely lines.

    Like

  6. lunawitch15 says:

    Ooo that was gooood!

    Like

  7. trisha says:

    very, very true victoria, sometimes we lose the real thing chasing its USES 😦

    Like

  8. ladynimue says:

    I passed the versatile blogger award to you here :
    http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/versatile-blogger/

    Hope you accept it [ no compulsions 😉 ]

    Like

  9. Someone is Special says:

    One of the best I read.. Thanks Victoria..

    Someone is Special

    Like

  10. Jamie Dedes says:

    Amen! Well done. Totally agree and totally love the poem. Thanks, Victoria!

    Like

  11. The ease with which Earth’s toxins
    permeate my skin,
    pass into my bloodstream,
    worries you. Me too.

    I like this part – I feel connected to the frog!

    Like

  12. A wonderful taxonomic hymn. Have you ever heard/read the lyrics for the song “Oceania” by Bjork? Reminds me of that (though not as strange as Bjork is 😉 .

    Like

  13. Becca Givens says:

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I hope you consider accepting!
    http://beccagivens.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

  14. versebender says:

    Just a wonderful piece. Vb

    Like

  15. Jingle says:

    sweetest science, wow.
    thanks for the feedback yesterday, I got it and now posted mine:

    When Science Becomes Political

    Happy Friday,

    Like

  16. pamela says:

    What a beautiful scientific poem, Victoria.
    Every stanza is a delight.

    Like

  17. Beautiful poem! Unique, I might add. Thank you for sharing your thoughts in verse. Blessings to you…

    Like

  18. Laurie Kolp says:

    I love this! Looks just fine the way it is… I especially like the daisy stanza.

    Like

  19. honeyhaiku says:

    It is poetry at it best!

    Like

  20. We says:

    I appreciated your comments on my poem, so I wanted to check your site out. Well written. I am a lover of nature and keeping it green. We need to keep our flora and fauna healthy, and it takes all of us. Well done.

    Like

  21. Excellent…

    Here is mine:
    dissolved

    Like

  22. thingy says:

    Indeed, we must save her.

    Like

  23. ladynimue says:

    One od the best read of the day !!
    so simple , serene and scientifically poetic 🙂

    Like

  24. Kim Nelson says:

    This is utterly beautiful; and the last stanza sings! Perfect way to wrap it up.
    Here’s mine:
    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2011/03/09/you-and-me-scientifically/

    Like

  25. vivinfrance says:

    Poetic science: lovely. Does the scientist see the beauty?
    Sadly, no more elms – they used to be my favourite trees, so majestic.
    inulin? insulin?

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

