I-395 Mojave to Reno–Poetry Potluck


Desert wildflowers

Image by °Florian via Flickr

Submitted to Poetry Potluck: http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/ where the theme for this week is Traveling, Trips, Vacations. This poem was written last year on our return trip to Reno in May.

I-395 Mojave to Reno

Opening lines of poems
I would write
if I didn’t have to drive:

The Artist slopped his paint
across the Mojave Desert…

Purple and yellow, orange and blue,
complementary palettes…

A mound of red and black lava:
a dinosaur slipping into extinction…

Owen’s lake in cool colors:
blue on blue, silver white…

The difference between stark and extravagant =
January + 4 months – winter…

Snow presides on Mount Whitney
while Lone Pine lounges in its shadows…

To be continued
or completed.

19 thoughts on “I-395 Mojave to Reno–Poetry Potluck

  1. Wonderful work victoria.. SmileS..

    Someone is Special

    Like

  2. Sina Saberi says:

    interesting work…

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    I’ve been to Reno, but not the Mohave. Do you believe it?

    This brings up lovely images. Look forward to more …

    Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    That’s exactly why I prefer to be a passenger and quietly watch what passes outside the window. It’s a very creative and entertaining poem, Victoria–I would love to visit the desert again.

    Like

  5. Mama Zen says:

    This is so clever!

    Like

  6. ladynimue says:

    Nice travelogue sort ..
    🙂

    Like

  7. Baishali says:

    seeing things through a traveller’s eye … very interesting.

    Like

  8. trisha says:

    Fantastic poem victoria. expert and beautiful. your poems are always special. they have something special in them.

    Like

  9. Interesting interpretation!

    Like

  10. fiveloaf says:

    love all the colors you splayed onto your poem liv.. my potluck .. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/frozen-fears/

    Like

  11. I don’t know how your deserts look like over there, but the one that I saw in Egypt looks different than what I’ve seen on pictures, it was strange … I liked the colors in your desert …

    Like

    • They change with the seasons, Blaga. In spring they are glorious with an array of colorful wildflowers. In October, sagebrush blooms brilliant yellow and gold. In the Summer, more in shades of browns and tan. Come on over and visit!

      Like

  12. Amazing imagery snippets! I loved the ride. 🙂

    Like

  13. Lots of color and shapes along the way. I’ve never been through a desert. You make it sound lovely. Blessings, Victoria…

    Like

  14. Jingle says:

    beautiful imaginations..
    visual and vivid wording..
    A++

    Like

  15. tasithoughts says:

    You know, I feel I was there. Loved it.

    JP

    Like

  16. It is like reading the description along the way, seeing things through the traveler’s eyes…

    Like

  17. seabell says:

    I like the descriptive quality of your travel poem, a lot more exterior than mine. But then this is what this travelling/writing adventure is all about: we go to the places we want to go… Thanks for taking me along. I enjoyed the ride!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

