Monday Morning Writing Prompt


Sugawara no Michizane is revered as the god of...

Image via Wikipedia

Many of us have accepted challenges (presented in response to National Poetry Month) to write a poem a day during the month of April. Instead of compounding your (dare I say) confusion I thought it would be fun to combine a bit of poetry and flash fiction by suggesting a HAIBUN. Here’s Wikipedia’s explanation:

Haibun (Japanese: 俳文 haikai writings) is a literary composition that combines prose and haiku. The range of haibun is broad and includes, but is not limited to, the following forms of prose: autobiography, biography, diary, essay, historiography, prose poem, short story and travel literature.

For this week’s prompt, try this form, using whichever challenge you have chosen for your daily poem.

If you haven’t joined the fray, you can find poetry prompts on Big Tent Poetry, NaPoWriMo, or Poetic Asides. Links to these sites are in my blogroll. I will post mine soon.

23 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt

  1. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] i managed to write a haibun as prompted by Victoria here.  Ideas for the post from Magpie Tales [image] , Haiku heights , Sensational Haiku […]

    Like

  3. Amanda says:

    Hi!
    I found your prompt through Trisha. I reposted an older Haibun I wrote in the hopes that it will help your readers more understand what a Haibun is.
    Amanda

    Like

  4. […] For Monday Morning writing prompt […]

    Like

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    I think I’m going to play with this, but not until May. My April is booked!!!! Thanks for the intro.

    Like

  6. dani says:

    i hope i did this one right. i had never heard ANYthing about a haibun so it was quite interesting to attempt. thanks for such a great prompt.

    Like

  7. […] ** Monday Morning Writing Prompt at   liv2write2day’s Blog is where i  found the prompt of  writing a haibun. only five […]

    Like

  8. trisha says:

    will try it, sounds interesting. 🙂

    Like

  9. This was quite the challenge, Victoria. I don’t write or read poetry. I absorb poetry from my husband who is a hopeless romantic. He loves to read his poetry writings to me. I decided to take on the challenge as a birthday gift for him. I hope he likes it.
    It’s my first attempt … here it is :

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/yeshowoldweget

    Like

  10. honeyhaiku says:

    Just wanted to share my Haibun describing my death:

    http://honeyhaiku.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/morning-muse/

    Like

  11. chris says:

    It’s not the best but it’s close to my heart. I saw the post about your mom and I was inspired to use my own mom’s story.

    Best wishes on NaNoPoMo!

    Like

  12. Bodhirose says:

    Hi Victoria, I couldn’t pass this up–it was intriguing to me. I used a flash fiction story of 100 words with a haiku. I’d like to investigate this style further. Thanks for introducing it.

    Here’s my link: http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/pain-held-tight/

    Like

  13. Tino11 says:

    I guess I shall be giving this weeks prompt a miss, but will certainly look forward to reading responses from others.

    Like

  14. easylifestyles says:

    Excellent job. Thanks for sharing. Sharing poems is something I truly enjoy doing. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Check out – A Day at the Park

    Like

  15. Interesting form. On one of my blogs (the political satire one) I often introduce a political limerick with a paragraph of prose setting the factual scene for the limerick. I wonder if that would qualify as haibun. Hmmmm. 🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

