Garbage Day–Poetry Potluck and NaPoWriMo Day 10


March 7 - Wind Blown Recycling

Image by Scott Hamlin via Flickr

Submitted to Poetry Potluck: http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/ for the theme of 

Environment, Evolution and Survival 

 

 

 

 Garbage Day

 
We roam the neighborhood,
the dogs and I,
on garbage day—
a day of wind and
every kind of March weather
all at once.

Litter nestles between the curb and
winter-damaged asphalt.

I carry small pouches to pick up dog poop,
(the ones the city provides
at the entrance to the park
on our street near the river).
In my left coat pocket—a plastic sack,
from Wal-Mart, to seal the
little ones tight.

Smashed on the sidewalk,
a plastic container
informs me of the nutritional
value of a single portion of applesauce.
I grab it and the caffeine-free
diet Pepsi can
from the middle of the street.

Confetti clutters a lawn—
shredded financial documents.
Detritus of people’s lives
(Upper Middle Class Waste)
defiles our surroundings.

Two doors down,
cardboard boxes from Costco
wait on the curb—
purchasing power folded into
squares and rectangles.

A lid with Xerox
stamped in red, over and over again,
leans against the mailbox
in my rose garden.
I chuck it in my Waste
Management receptacle.

In the house, I make rounds,
gather our rubbish,
chuck a cylindrical cardboard package,
emptied of individual plastic cups of Crystal Light,
share the shame.

I chosen to use Poetry Potluck’s theme for NaPoWriMo This old brain can only produce so much poetry and, to be honest, this is a rewrite. It is, after all, a day of rest! http://www.napowrimo.net/ 

 

26 thoughts on “Garbage Day–Poetry Potluck and NaPoWriMo Day 10

  1. I like how detailed you described the garbage on the streets, and it’s sad how we don’t care about one clean world, since everywhere we go there is a trash on the streets, instead of being in the garbage bins! Very clever poem Victoria, liked it!

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oh my gosh! This is so true. You can’t walk anywhere now adays without pick-up and searching out trash cans. Too sad. Even at public beaches and gardens.

    Well written poem and certainly much appreciated. Thank you, Victoria!

    Like

  3. trisha says:

    a walk in the street will scream out loud that its the same litterbugs in every place but people like you are rare.

    god bless your beautiful soul.

    Like

  4. dani says:

    i live in an apartment and they just provided recycling bins next to the garbage dumpsters. every little bit helps.

    Like

  5. lucychili says:

    it feels blustery
    windy and cluttered
    familiar

    Like

  6. Samanthamj says:

    Love the imagery in this…. your vivid descriptions brought me along on the walk with you. Your pup is lucky to have such a caring owner… and, I bet has a whole different take on garbage day walks than this. =)

    Like

  7. Carl says:

    I loved this one. I understood the message that we produce more litter than we think and we do less than we should to control it, but the rich irony is that if we don’t pick up the dog stuff, we get the harshest judgment from folks, despite the fact that it is a natural thing that almost belongs in nature whereas there is little criticism of the unnatural liter that goes around.

    At any rate, I loved the poem!

    Like

  8. honeyhaiku says:

    This is a great message, a remind to our relationship with the environment.

    Like

  9. Judy Roney says:

    You are a gift to the world. What a boost it gives me just to read. We get involved in the community clean up but of course that is not enough because I see it on our streets daily. This gives me pause to consider what little thing I might be willing to do in addition. Every little thing adds up. Thank you.

    Like

  10. Mike Patrick says:

    A message for the modern day. Litter seems to be multiplying. Have we created a monster?

    Like

  11. Jessica says:

    A great way of describing our careless way with litter. I liked the carefully added details of product names and shops. I enjoyed this – it should be sent to schools for the kids to read!

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/evolution-in-a-nutshell/

    Like

  12. I like the story and how it was told, as well as the message and how it was conveyed. With the piece’s vivid imagery, I can picture you and your dogs going around the neighborhood, doing your part in making the environment clean.

    Like

  13. ladynimue says:

    Phew ! This made me think so so much .. and i know now what I have to pen down for myself ..

    Like

  14. bendedspoon says:

    I salute your contribution, to the environment. Nice one! 🙂

    Like

  15. Porky says:

    I like very much where you run with the observations, finding the odd tangents. A pleasure to read.

    Like

  16. danroberson says:

    I live at the bottom of a hill and I get all the extras on windy days. I’ve learned so much about my neighbors.

    Like

  17. booguloo says:

    I read your dismay. Email Kraft Foods and see if they’ll change to a more environmentally conscious container? Or not. Smiles..

    Like

  18. tekia says:

    I like the visualizations you provide in this piece. Happy Potluck!

    Like

  19. david waters says:

    little glimpses into the lives of others through the trash bin…I enjoyed this very much.

    Like

  20. marousia says:

    You have turned garbage into gold through vivid imagery – I could see the rubbish 🙂

    Like

  21. Artswebshow says:

    I enjoyed reading this.
    Litter is a very odd thing.
    I once saw a guy drop his cigarette stub on the floor and ten metres on looked disapprovingly at a lone coke can, shaking his head he picked it up and put it in a nearby bin.
    To this day it makes me chuckle.
    The way i see is i dont litter so why should i clean up somebody elses mess but we all have different viewpoints

    Like

    • I pick up litter if I have a bag to put it in, like I do when I’m walking the dogs. I think just a bit of it is contagious, causing others not to care. In this poem it was the wind that littered, blowing trash out of garbage containers (which happens where I live) but it made me realize how much trash we produce. Thanks for stopping by, Richard. I enjoyed the irony of the story you shared.

      Like

  22. Rallentanda says:

    Litter is so depressing, polluting our waterways and environment and also so unnecessary. It is very antisocial. We devote a day per year nationally called ‘Clean Up Australia ‘where everyone is encouraged to clean up the rubbish.I think it should be made compulsory for everyone.We have compulsory voting here so I don’t see why it can’t be extended to something useful.

    Like

  23. Jingle says:

    powerful…..

    I know many people lit,
    well delivered message, thanks for the contribution to potluck.

    A++
    🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

