Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Flash Fiction


The "QWERTY" layout of typewriter ke...

Image via Wikipedia

Since many of you are on poetry overload because of NaPoWriMo, I thought it might be a good idea to take a break and write a bit of flash fiction in 1000 words or less.

A lot of my fellow poet bloggers have indicated that they also write novels or short fiction. I see that many of you participate in various flash fiction or even novel-writing challenges. I believe that developing a poetic sense enriches narrative fiction and that fiction helps poets organize their thoughts and create a story arc in narrative poetry.

For today’s prompt, let’s start with a bit of dialogue. I find it fun to toss out an opening line and see what you come up with–so here it is:

“It’s not that I’m trying to keep it a secret. It’s not clandestine—not exactly.”

See where this takes you, if you will, and leave the link in comments. And if, somehow, this inspires a poem, go for it. It’s open-writing season all the time at liv2write2day!

10 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Flash Fiction

  1. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt – Flash Fiction (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Reeks of a mystery. I love the suggestion.

    Ditto your comment re: poetic sense.

    Like

  3. trisha says:

    may be i will try it from my story blog, in place of poetry blog. 🙂

    Like

  4. […] Written for Monday_Flash […]

    Like

  5. Tino11 says:

    My very first attempt at anything like a short story, so be gentle.

    http://pspacer11.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/money-money-money/

    Like

  6. Tino11 says:

    I shall have a crack at this one methinks, post links later on sometime.
    Nice idea.

    Like

  7. […] by Victoria’s Monday Writing Prompt Also submitted to Sunday […]

    Like

  8. ladynimue says:

    and when I thoght, I would not be able to write a fiction for some time , you gave an excelelnt prompt ! Will post soon and link here. 🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

