Presence–Poetry Potluck


Photo: David Slotto

Presence

Awakening early in the dawn to the sound of birds;
Easing into daylight, sitting without words;

Coffee slipping down my throat, stirring up my senses;
Fragrant sweet peas opening in rows along the fences;

Dogs that snuggle up to me, waiting for a treat;
Music soaring through my veins, ramping up the beat;

Colors dancing in a field, or posed upon my palette;
Freedom to express my self, to choose and cast a ballot;

Words that tumble through my mind, ending up on pages;
Touches soft as satin, that calm when discord rages;

Life is measured out to me in gifts that this day brings;
The gifting of each moment lies in ordinary things.

Submitted to Jingle Poetry Potluck: http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/ย This week’s theme is a few of my favorite things.

31 thoughts on “Presence–Poetry Potluck

  1. tasithoughts says:

    I related to the essence of this poem.

    Thank you.

    JP

    Like

  2. booguloo says:

    Sounds like a beautiful morning.

    Like

  3. Raksha Bhat says:

    I relate to this idea completely:)No wonder this poem touched my heart..thank you:)

    Like

  4. The presence of these small pleasures is precious. You said it well, with impressive rhythm and rhyming!

    Like

  5. Kay Salady says:

    Yes, it’s the simple things that bring the most joy in life. I like this poem very much. Thank you!

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    So true. This was somehow comforting to read–I enjoyed it very much. I loved the peaceful quiet of it.

    Like

  7. honeyhaiku says:

    This is a soothing read, and captured the essence of a great Monday morning!

    Like

  8. John says:

    Lovely poetry…I absolutely love your last two lines. Exceptional!! Thanks for your post! It made a huge difference. Blessings! XOXO

    Like

  9. Teri C says:

    So I read the limerick from Mad Kane and realized it was not you but I am going over there to tell her I LOLed at it. Thanks for posting it so I didn’t miss it.

    Like

  10. Teri C says:

    I went from laughing at your previous poem to aaahhhing over this wonderful poem! You are a wonderful poet!!

    Like

  11. kshawnedgar says:

    A moment so clear.

    Like

  12. Reflections says:

    The magical touch of ordinary moments… truly blessings of this wonderful thing called life.

    Like

  13. Vinay says:

    wow, I can relate to so many of your favorite things, Victoria; the first and last verses and the music.. my favorite lines in this poetry!

    My Potluck Post

    Like

  14. lunawitch15 says:

    the ryhme just danced along perfectly!
    great and wonderful!

    Like

  15. Yes, the real beauty comes with the simple things! As one that appreciates all these ordinary, but brilliant moments, loving your poem Victoria!

    Like

  16. Someone is Special says:

    lovely.. here is mine, ~ these are few of my favorite things ~

    Someone is Special

    Like

  17. Kodjo Deynoo says:

    Swell poem to start the day with. Lovely image so calming.

    Like

  18. […] Presence – Poetry Potluck (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  19. bendedspoon says:

    this is no ordinary…so lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  20. Jade says:

    Ordinary things carry such sweet joy, just like this poem.

    Like

  21. ladynimue says:

    beautiful !!
    one of the best reads for me today!

    Like

  22. Jessica says:

    Lazily beautiful!
    I like the image of yhe sweet peas opening.

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/my-favourite-things-not/

    Like

  23. seabell says:

    So we have a preference for “ordinary things”… I just forgot to mention my own dogs!

    Like

  24. trisha says:

    just fabulous victoria. simply fabulous. i love this week’s theme in PPL, it will be fun to write ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  25. Mike Patrick says:

    Thanks to your morning, my morning is beautiful.

    Like

  26. Jamie Dedes says:

    Absolute truth and well written. The ordinary gifts are the most valued. Thank you for another fine poem and statisfying read, Victoria.

    Like

  27. Olivia says:

    The gifting of each moment lies in ordinary things… indeed!!
    I loved this line- Colors dancing in a field, or posed upon my palette

    What a beautiful life- song Victoria.. very serene!
    Sunday Hugs xx

    Like

  28. Jingle says:

    the first two lines instantly drew me.

    love your take.
    masterful delivery.

    A++

    Like

  29. souldipper says:

    Amen, Victoria, how you have expressed those gifts!

    Like

  30. ordinary things, the little things, freedom, and being present in the moment ๐Ÿ™‚

    what life is all about! An enjoyable read, thank you!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/i-am-the-story/

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

