Special Post–Leucistic Hummingbird


D. Slotto 4/2011

D. Slotto 4/2011
D. Slotto 4/2011

We are receiving frequent visits from a pure white (Leucistic) hummingbird.

He is friendly when we approach him at the feeder and has even flown up to my husband who has been able to take a number of photos.

Leucistic hummingbirds are rare, but albino hummers are rarer. Leucistic hummers have dark eyes, while those of albinos are pink. These small birds are vulnerable to predators because of their light color.

In American Indian lore, hummingbirds represent joy. White is a symbol of purity and truth.

PURE JOY

 My husband, David, took these photos. We do not have photoshopping capabilities here but when we return home he will work with them and many other photos he has captured.

This little fellow inspired the poem I submitted to Poetry Potluck: https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/revelation-poetry-potlucks-theme-of-art-music-and-poetry/

For more information on this beautiful little creatures, visit: http://www.rubythroat.org/AlbinoMain.html

 

11 thoughts on “Special Post–Leucistic Hummingbird

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing the link.

    Like

  2. What special moments you two attract, Victoria! Thanks so much for sharing this incredible tiny bird with the world. I hope s/he soon finds a mate in your backyard.

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    I’m in love. Thank you for posting these, Victoria. Hubby did a nice job.

    Like

  4. What beautiful photos, Victoria! I have never seen a hummingbird like this. How lovely!!

    Like

  5. trisha says:

    she must be an angel visiting earth. fabulous photographs victoria, thanks for sharing them and the info about this cherished visitor.

    Like

  6. meiro says:

    Lovely… and the photos too.
    Have a nice day.

    Like

  7. souldipper says:

    I have Ode To Joy playing as I study the photos. Many thanks, Victoria.

    Like

  8. Pure joy. I like it. What a beautiful hummingbird. Great photos. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to you, Victoria…

    Like

  9. Bodhirose says:

    Well thanks for clearing this up for me because I thought it was an albino hummingbird. What an extraordinary little bird and so cool that it allows your husband to take such nice photos of it.

    I had never heard of this bird before–I’ll have to share this with my sisters who are as bird crazy as I am!

    Like

  10. Lovely photos Victoria!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

