Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Description


Saatchi Gallery - Young & Old

Image by vintagedept via Flickr

For this morning’s writing prompt let’s work on description. Use the photo I’ve posted and write a description of what you see. You can choose to have it stand-alone or to include it as a part of a short story. Try to incorporate as many of the sense as you can, without forcing it. To help you, take a look at this article I posted in Wordsmith Wednesday last June:

https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/wordsmith-wednesday-sensory-description/

If you participate, please link your post in comments and would you consider inviting a blogging friend to join in as well? I won’t be able to comment or visit until later in the week as we will be driving back home. At that time, I will post my description as well. I hope you have fun with this one. Thanks.

21 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Description

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    A good prompt ….
    Just working through your posts. I feel like I must have missed some and it looks like I have.
    Hope all is well with you, Dave, and the pups.
    Jamie

    Like

  2. A little late, but why not…there’s no Mr. Linky so all bets are off. http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/594/

    Like

  3. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt – Description (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. Hello Victoria,

    I decided to attempt to write another – Description – for the MMWP. This one was following your direction of the photo —– although —- I was unable to get the photo to paste to the story. I decided some things need to be left to fate. BUT … for future refereence could you tell me how to add the photo. I must be doing it incorrectly.

    Following the photo was a little more emotionally challenging …. I did like reminisicing Thank you for the prompt.
    Namaste,
    Izzy

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/5/04/johnnywalker(aka:johnj.walker

    Like

  5. chrisd says:

    Thanks for doing these prompts. I am going to try to discipline myself to do this every Monday. Have a great week!

    Like

    • chrisd says:

      Oh, goodness, I have to apologize. This was supposed to include sensory descriptions. I apologize for not reading the directions. I’ll look more carefully next time.

      Like

  6. Hi Victoria,
    I missed the last two writing challenges because I was away. I guess not having been on the computer has dininsihed my reading skills. I guess I misread the prompt. I guess I created my own world of what I thought you had wished for us to do. I was so focused on getting in touch with my senses I didn’t realize I had a photo prompt to follow, too. Oh well … I hated to let a good story go to waste. I hope you enjoy it.
    thanks for all the prompts. They are so encouraging and stimulate writing creativity.
    Namaste,
    isadora

    http://www.insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/grandmasoldclapboardfarmhouse

    Like

  7. Bodhirose says:

    This was a fun prompt, Victoria. I’m so glad you’re still going to be posting these prompts as well as your Wordsmith Wednesday offerings. xoxo

    Here’s mine: http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/pa-pa/

    Like

  8. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt:  Description;   https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/monday-morning-writing-prompt-description/#respond […]

    Like

  9. trisha says:

    will be posting mine. but the pic in your post is not visible. 😦

    Like

  10. souldipper says:

    I couldn’t resist the photo, Victoria. Here’s my SENSE-ative piece: http://souldipper.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/an-advocate-from-heaven/

    Like

  11. […] Victoria, at Liv2write2day, issued a challenge on her Monday Morning Writing Prompt. […]

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

