Doubt–Poetry Potluck


Doubt/شک

Image by mohammadali via Flickr

Doubt

Why do wild roses
splayed along the river
go unseen, then die?

How do swallows know
when to return? And salmon,
the place of their gestation?

What causes flashes
of crimson and Parrish blue
to flare behind closed eyes?

Is there pleasure without pain?
And when we try so hard,
how come we fail?

Why do you
abandon us? Or is it
the other way around?

Linked to Poetry Potluck: http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

26 thoughts on “Doubt–Poetry Potluck

  1. Just now managed to read few old entries for Potluck. So many doubts here, I know how all these questions can eat you and still the answer can be away, confidence is what we all need, but so hard to stick to it sometimes, isn’t it?

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    A profoundly good poem. Polished.

    Like

  3. dani says:

    each question more profound than the last…. this is one of my favorite of your poems, Victoria. really love it!

    Like

  4. Jess says:

    Great questions and insightful writing

    Like

  5. These are questions I would also love to know the answers to. My favorite lines are:
    “Is there pleasure without pain?
    And when we try so hard,
    how come we fail?”

    Like

  6. This may print twice, but thanks again for putting me to thought. Luv ur voice.

    Like

  7. Always putting me to thought. Great job again.

    Like

  8. Jingle says:

    very witty words.
    love the imagery,

    wisdom of words make poetry more attractive.
    A++

    Like

  9. Kim Nelson says:

    Tight, clear, concise and questioning. Great write.

    Like

  10. kshawnedgar says:

    Soothing for being about doubt, and somehow insightful for asking the right questions.

    Like

  11. Bodhirose says:

    Good questions, well put, Victoria.

    Like

  12. RG Pyper says:

    sweet. wise. lovely and ponderous. I’m intrigued.

    Like

  13. trisha says:

    fabulous poem and very wise questions. nature is beyond doubt thats why she is so attractive.

    Like

  14. Beautifully written verses, Victoria. Questions. At least one of them deserves our pondering and finding the answer. Blessings to you…

    Like

  15. What causes flashes
    of crimson and Parrish blue
    to flare behind closed eyes?

    I love the intensity and economy of language here.

    Like

  16. Beautifully written.Great post my friend.Keep the good work going.Meanwhile plz do pass by my blogs page read,follow and comment to aid me improve my works too.
    Thank you.Lovely day.
    EBENEZER.

    Like

  17. Great poem with sense of direction and questionnaire.I love it.Keep it up.Meanwhile plz do pass by my blogs page read,follow and comment to aid me improve my works too.
    Thank you.Lovely day.
    EBENEZER.

    Like

  18. Hi – this is Chloe from “Writing Days-Happy Days” with my new blog. Please visit “Blossom Dreams” if you can – possibly even subscribe 😉

    If I’m on your Blogroll, please can you change your link from Writing Days to Blossom Dreams?

    Many thanks and have a great day!!

    Chloe xx

    Like

  19. LeRoy Dean says:

    Well written.

    Like

  20. seabell says:

    Living in doubt is not easy but I think it’s the correct way to live… as long as we are thrilled and not tormented by them. I like your poem, Victoria!

    Like

  21. souldipper says:

    Dear Poet, I take comfort in the knowledge that you know the answer. Love this, Victoria.

    Like

  22. Good questions, all well said!

    Like

  23. leah says:

    Thank you, very nice to meet you and showing me pot luck. Thank you again. Hope to write as well as you sometime soon._leah

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

