Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Texture


Tree bark at f/2

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been a docent at the Nevada Museum of Art for a few years and one of the elements of art that I enjoy exploring with the children I tour is texture. I ask them to enter the painting and tell me how something would feel if they could touch it–soft, smooth, fluffy or hard, rough, coarse? Hot or cold? I think sometimes the sense of touch is overlooked when we are writing sensory detail.

For today’s prompt, write a poem or flash fiction in which you feature at least one description of something with texture. You may find it fun this week to become more aware of the input your sense of touch offers to you and how it makes you feel.

Please include a link to your response in the comment section of this post and enjoy your sense of touch. However, if you visit a museum…please don’t touch the art! :0)

19 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Texture

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Bravo! I like what you do with the kids and what you have suggested here. Valuable. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Victoria,

    TEXTURE … this has been a word that has enraptured me. I had so many things I wanted to write about. I dug into my mind and found so many that could have fit the word. I decided on this one.

    It’s a little late for a Monday Morning Prompt but it has been an emotional week as you know from my blog. Thank you for your challenging prompts.

    Namaste,
    Izzy

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/monday-morning-prompt-texture/barbedwire

    Like

    • Such a sensitive, sad account. It is never too late to post, Izzy. We have enough stressors in life so I don’t put deadlines. It’s just to rev up your writing engine and have fun with it.

      Like

  3. […] My response to the prompt for MMWP to write a poem or flash fiction that included texture. Check out other submissions at: https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/05/15/monday-morning-writing-prompt-texture/ […]

    Like

  4. trisha says:

    you are right i am obsessed with blogging 🙂
    bear with me if you can!

    Like

  5. Bodhirose says:

    Here’s my offering for this week’s prompt, Victoria. It was fun to tap into my feeling sense.

    http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/feather-bed/

    Like

  6. Technically, flash fiction is 1000 words or less. Lots do fewer. Do what works for you. As far as I’m concerned, no dealine. Life has enough stressors. Will love to see your work.

    Like

  7. Hi Victoria – okay, you’ve got my attention…think I will try this as my first ever writing challenge 😀

    As the new girl, here’s two questions – how long would the Flash Fiction tend to be and also, when is the deadline for this…or is there one?

    Thanks!
    Chloe xx

    Like

  8. Tino says:

    http://pspacer11.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/i-feel-love/

    Had a bash. Started last night, late. A few adjustments here and there, nothing major and here it is.

    Great prompt that was certainly a challenge for me.

    Like

  9. […] This was written for Monday Morning Writing Prompt. […]

    Like

  10. Thanks for inspiring me to write this sheet musing limerick.

    Like

  11. […] by this prompt to write about texture and an over-priced, lousy […]

    Like

  12. Tino says:

    Will be having a pop at this sooner or later. Just playing catchup after an internet free weekend and have yet to formulate any ideas on this subject, but wont be long in coming 😉

    Like

  13. trisha says:

    this is going to be fun victoria. 🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

