Love’s Colors


A love poem submitted to One Stop Poetry’s Friday Poetically: http://onestoppoetry.com/

Photo: V. Slotto

Love’s Colors
a Haibun

The crystal lovebirds that you gave me sit here on my windowsill, catching rays of sunshine, splitting them into arcs of color that spill onto my desk across a pile of paper. They shimmy up the wall and cast a spell throughout the room.

And I recall days
of ripe cherries on our tree,
of scarlet kisses.

When first we married and moved up here to the Sierra Nevada, our lives were filled with work. Establishing our home, our yard. Making a living. But in-between-moments filled our every day with beauty.

And I recall days
of rising sun casting orange
on snow-clad mountains.

Our life wasn’t always easy. Like our garden, it required maintenance and a lot of work. It still does. But looking back I can see how we discovered goodness in one another and the work it takes to make a marriage work.

And I recall days
of dandelion dances,
both weeds and wonders.

There were moments when we seemed to grow apart. When work and health concerns or money brought us worries and challenges.

And I recall days
of growth needing attention—
gardens to be pruned.

We are both pretty stubborn, you know. How did we manage to stay together, to change without losing ourselves in the process? Is this why too many marriages fail?

And I recall days
of cloud-obscured cobalt skies
threatening rainfall.

A few times we hit bottom.

And I recall nights
filled with indigo darkness,
reaching for your hand.

And you were there to take it. I wish we could tell younger people that all the work it takes is so worthwhile. That like the days of a relationship—the scarlet kisses and the indigo darkness—love is splashed with colors of the rainbow. All the colors are there, hidden in the moment.

And these are the days
we paint in our memory’s
color-filled palette.

A Haibun is a poetic form combining prose with haiku.

20 thoughts on “Love’s Colors

  1. Bill says:

    This is lovely. I wish I could write such straightforward and heartfelt love poems. Oh, and don’t think it is lost on me that the colors down the page are the same frequencies as the chakras rising.

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Unique and I think uniquely you. A lovely homage and warm and well-written. I’ve enjoyed it more than I can say. Wonderful!

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    I love this beautiful form and what you created with it here. And a loving tribute to how two stubborn people can still make it work.

    I love the crystal lovebirds too. Sitting where the sunlight can catch their sparkle.

    Like

  4. Wonderful! I loved the words as well as the colors…they added wonderful layers to your work.

    Like

  5. Claudia says:

    oh victoria this was so beautiful – never heard about the form before – but it’s just perfect for the message – and it’s a good message to convey -loved the ripe cherries and scarlet kisses

    Like

  6. This combination of haiku and prose is new to me, but I think it works extremely well in your skilled hands. The contrast between the language of familiar forms and the heightened intensity of the poetic imagery created a delicious tingle of emotion. I loved it!
    In fact, you have inspired me to try my hand at something similar. Thank you. James.

    Like

  7. Leslie says:

    this is so rich with the lushness of your imagery and full of deep truth… brought tears to my eyes.

    Like

  8. Tino says:

    Put that on the ever increasing list of new forms.

    What a beautiful piece. It can be so hard making a relationship last these days with all the world has to offer. But this works so well, combined colours that accentuate each line of prose.

    Like

  9. ALIVE aLwaYs says:

    Wow! It is so good,
    I loved that you further colored it all, colorful wisdom, how could I not hear.

    Like

  10. I love how you have effectively used colors to paint a charming picture of a loving relationship. It’s beautiful. This is a wonderful poetic form — I did not know of it. Thank you for introducing me to it. 🙂

    Like

  11. souldipper says:

    Your poem has removed all the extraneous, unnecessary and blabbering noise of life so only the real parts remain. Victoria, thank you for personifying what I believe we all can experience.

    Like

  12. Andy says:

    This is wonderful. I like how you used colors to explain the ups and downs of marriage.
    You captured love beautifully.
    Thank you for sharing.

    (I appreciate your comment over at my blog)

    Like

  13. Your thoughts and words are just beautiful, and for anyone who’s marriage has lasted over the years, so true. Love the format you used, one I am not familiar with, but a perfect one for expression, especially with the use of color. Very nice!

    Like

  14. Hope says:

    oh, this is truly lovely and unique. the flow is smooth and romantic

    thank you

    Like

  15. Helena White says:

    Unique indeed! Beautifully done…the love birds are lovely.

    Like

  16. leah says:

    This was great and something i would like to do or learn myself. #wonderful and thank you

    Like

  17. I like the combo haiku/prose. Lovely. Beautiful verses and prose. I also like those crystal birds! How unique and lovely! Blessings to you, Victoria…

    Like

  18. JL Dodge says:

    I am so happy to come here and read such a wonderfully refreshing haibun, beautifully done !
    jl&b

    Like

  19. brian says:

    this is fabulous…love teh repeated opening of the refrain through out and the descriptors move us well through the memories…dandelions dancing..smiles…really nice..and thanks for the anniversary wishes…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

