Broken Promises–Poetry Potluck


abstract  colors....

Image by trash it via Flickr

Broken Promises

The wedge is the most
common shape in nature,
the docent says,
pointing to a
block of color
erupting like a volcano,
painted by some obscure
abstract impressionist.

I think of mossy rocks
jutting from the thirsty river
just about a block from here.
Or the blue spruce outside
my window,
shelter from the cold
to quail and jays.

I think of promises not kept—
the way you turned and slammed
the door, the sliver
of light that bled across the floor
and fell on emptiness.

I think of verbs like
cram or stuff
or “force those thoughts,
those moments, those memories
from your consciousness.”

I beg for circles:
beginnings without ends
without having to start
all over again.

The prompt for this week’s Poetry Potluck is Void, Loneliness and Sorrow. Stop by http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com  and read the work of seasoned and emerging poets who’ve responded to this challenge.

31 thoughts on “Broken Promises–Poetry Potluck

  1. Mike Patrick says:

    I never thought of wedges and circles being opposites, but when viewed by the heart, it’s true.

    Like

  2. ladynimue says:

    How we all wish for not falling into these circles .. sigh !

    Like

  3. luna15 says:

    its so dad. the last verse just jumps at you with a vengeance.

    Like

  4. A.B. Thomas says:

    Such a beautifully written piece and until I read it I never thought of how life seems as it is – thanks for the new perspective

    Like

  5. The end is spectacular, not having to start all over again is something I dream about …

    Like

  6. I love how you listed so many different kinds of wedges and I share the longing for circles expressed here. A circle evokes eternity, wholeness, peace.

    Like

  7. thingy says:

    I think so many can relate to this piece. What a profound and bittersweet write.

    Like

  8. Bodhirose says:

    Sorrowful… It’s a daunting thought–to start all over again. I like the idea of beginning-less and endless circles too.

    Like

  9. Rajlakshmi says:

    powerful and touching write…
    loved reading it.

    *i am not sure if my earlier comments got published.

    Like

  10. mish says:

    I was really struck by the powerful imagery portrayed by the shapes you’ve mentioned … wedge versus circle … symbolic of the rough times/hardships/obstacles versus life’s smooth/peaceful/free-flowing moments .
    I also loved the reflective tone in “I think …” , which you’ve used at the beginning of stanzas 2 , 3 and 4 ~ as opposed to “I beg” , at the beginning of the final stanza , which comes so unexpectedly and yet so powerful and fervent !

    Like

  11. brian says:

    nice…you open easy then kick it into high gear when you get to promises not kept…hard truth then bring it back to the wish in the end…well played…

    Like

  12. Becca Givens says:

    “I beg for circles:
    beginnings without ends
    without having to start
    all over again.”

    How I wish this were true … Powerfully expressed!!

    Like

  13. Pat Cegan says:

    Your poem leaves me unable to comment, its power and beauty is so complete. Beautiful, special Victoria! hugs, pat

    Like

  14. Miki says:

    I love this statement “the sliver of light that bled across the floor and fell on emptiness” – Great poem!

    Miki
    http://mikspoems.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/amessageforme/

    Like

  15. Lyn says:

    I like the varied paths this takes..so much shape and color…and the yearning for never ending circles…what we are anyway, I think…

    Like

  16. trisha says:

    very sad and touching victoria and fabulously written.

    Like

  17. tigerbrite says:

    Lovely but sad poem especially the brilliant third verse.
    I don’t think we ever start again, it seems to me life progresses formed by our experiences and how we deal with them. Blessings.

    Like

  18. Living in circles. I like that, and look at many things in just that way. I like to see the circles as whirlwinds, spiraling higher and wider! Very good write, here!

    Like

  19. booguloo says:

    If only. Living in the last stanza might be a permanent solution to a temporary problem. Here’s hoping the voice finds the peace.

    Like

  20. Jingle says:

    this one surprises me,
    talented work, cheers.

    Happy Potluck!
    😉

    Like

  21. Jingle says:

    this one surprises me,
    talented work, cheers.

    Happy Potluck!

    Like

  22. Excellent read…;-)

    Like

  23. seabell says:

    Fantastic poem, Victoria! Like so many of us, you avoid common negative feelings of human nature: disappointment, sorrow… The way you said it, the use of the metaphor here is just perfect.

    Like

  24. Reflections says:

    “I think of promises not kept—
    the way you turned and slammed
    the door, the sliver
    of light that bled across the floor
    and fell on emptiness.”

    Incredible power in these few words. Nicely shared.

    Like

  25. julie says:

    great imagery

    Like

  26. ALIVE aLwaYs says:

    We like to do so much, but then the hard part, or the sorrow is indeed not having easily, or not having at all what we desired life to be.

    Like

  27. “I think of promises not kept—
    the way you turned and slammed
    the door, the sliver
    of light that bled across the floor
    and fell on emptiness.” Incredible paragraph this is a beautiful poem I absolutely love it better than anything I have ever written wonderful

    Like

  28. jgavinallan says:

    Victoria, this seems sad and full of disappointment.
    I loved the end…circles…it is a ray of hope. You can rebound from anything
    …without having to start all over again…love that last paragraph///
    Jaye

    Like

  29. Touching. I like the introduction of the circle in the ending after so much abruptness by the wedge. Blessings to you, Victoria…

    Like

  30. siggiofmaine says:

    I like this very much…and I especially like the ending…for I like to paint in circles ☺ Thank you for sharing.
    Siggi in Sunny Downeast Maine

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

