The Glory of Autumn–Season’s Favorite for Broken Sparkles


Autumn is back

The Glory of Autumn

Favorite Autumn Quote:

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns. ~George Eliot

Favorite Autumn Poem:

A Late Walk by Robert Frost

When I go up through the mowing field,
The headless aftermath
Smooth-laid like thatch with the heavy dew,
Half closes the garden path.

And when I come to the garden ground,
The whir of sober birds
Up from the tangle of withered weeds
Is sadder than any words.

A tree beside the wall stands bare,
But a leaf that lingered brown,
Disturbed, I doubt not, by my thought,
Comes softly rattling down.

I end not far from my going forth,
By picking the faded blue
Of the last remaining aster flower
To carry again to you.

Favorite Animal: Quail

Plump quail forage seed.
November winds howl, buffet
swirling mounds of leaves.

Favorite Movie: On Golden Pond

Living my autumn
fading in flamboyancy
float On Golden Pond.

Favorite Word: Orange
Favorite Song: “Autumn Leaves”

Autumn Leaves

Inching into Autumn’s end
orgasmic orange gives way
to drab

brown leaves that huddle
into niches of
the Maple.

From nowhere, it seems,
a brilliant Stellar Jay
intrudes.

Favorite Food: Acorn Squash

Pulpy acorn squash
maple syrup and butter
autumn’s comfort food.

Favorite Flower: Dahlia

Brilliant yellows, orange,
festival of fall colors
pure fantasy.

Favorite Town: Napa, California

Grape harvest begins
winemaker’s crush new vintage
heaven blesses earth.

Favorite Book: “East of Eden”
by John Steinbeck

Promise of harvest
in a land East of Eden
hope’s uncertainty.

Linked to Broken Sparkles challenge Season’s Favorites: http://brokensparkles.wordpress.com/

12 thoughts on “The Glory of Autumn–Season’s Favorite for Broken Sparkles

  1. […] The Glory of Autumn – Season’s Favorite for Broken Sparkles (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] made a wish for forever Autumn, we hoped to find a land East of Eden while the leaves kept falling, accepting the inevitability of […]

    Like

  3. Cherlyn says:

    Hmm quail and squash, now I’m hungry!

    A great selection of favourites, i love that Robert Frost poem. I’ve never seen that film though, I shall have to look it up later! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. mish says:

    Some very interesting choices … I love Robert Frost’s poetry … Autumn Leaves is one of my all-time favourite pieces of music and one of the reasons why I decided to join in the challenge .
    You can find my post at : http://writer-in-transit.co.za/seasonss-favorite-blogging-challenge-autumn-2/

    Like

  5. Considering that I love Autumn less than all other seasons/ because you’re right, it does carry the meaning of loss to me/, browsing through the links left at my blog I could see how everyone else loves Autumn and how well they’ve included it in words and images. I love the quote by Eliot and the poem by Frost, but what I love the most was the part about East of Eden! Thanks for sharing Victoria!

    Like

  6. dragonkatet says:

    Oh some great picks here! I love that poem by Robert Frost and really enjoyed the movie On Golden Pond! I can totally see why you picked “Autumn leaves” for your favorite song – it’s such a lovely tune (I have a friend who can’t resist playing it on sax over and over lol). I like that you linked Napa, CA with Autumn, too – you’re right – wine seems a perfect choice for Fall. These were all wonderful images. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. Fun post with some very interesting choices.

    Like

  8. siggiofmaine says:

    Victoria
    As I was rereading your post…
    I fell in love with your George Elliot autumn quote…thank you…will add it to my favorite quotes.

    .☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  9. siggiofmaine says:

    Victoria…love your choices…could picture autumn if I’d never experienced what we think of a traditional autumn with the changes of the trees, land, farm produce. Inspiring. Thanks.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  10. Bodhirose says:

    Great choices for autumn, Victoria–I can relate.

    Like

  11. jgavinallan says:

    Victoria, there is so many new images presented…Things I have never even heard of…lol
    Quail?
    Also…favorite movie…do not get me started…The road home…first film of Zhang ziyi…you know actress…Memoirs of A geisha…if you can take sub-titiles and using a box of kleenex(happy tears) try it.

    Jaye

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

