Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Commercial Metaphor


Chewing Gum

Image by EssjayNZ via Flickr

For our MMWP this week, let’s write a poem, essay or short fiction in which we use a commercial product as a metaphor.
METAPHOR:
noun
1. a figure of speech in which a term or phrase is applied to something to which it is not literally applicable in order to suggest a resemblance.
2. something used, or regarded as being used, to represent something else; emblem; symbol.

I’ve chosen Trident Layers Chewing Gum–in case you haven’t had it, it comes in three layers of flavors. Here’s how I compared it to a sunset:

Trident Layers

Bite into it.
Bursts of
wild strawberry,
tangy citrus,
green apple
golden pineapple.

Yesterday evening’s
sky at dusk—
turquoise bleeding
into rose
molded into
a bronze goddess.

Savor deeply
beauty and pain.
Life tenders
her gifts—
the taste of longing
lingers.

I hope you will post a link to your work in the comments section of this post!

Palm Desert-Photo: D. Slotto

8 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Commercial Metaphor

  1. Bodhirose says:

    I thought about this for awhile, Victoria–not easy for me to come by but here it is: http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/monday-morning-writing-prompt-commercial-metaphor-2/

    I really liked yours–gum and sunsets!

    Like

  2. So creative and evocative! I’ll try to come up with something–probably an essay and link it here. Thanks for challenging us!

    Like

  3. I will think about this and try and come up with a poem, let’s see if I’ll be able to. It might won’t be today but I’ll come up with something!

    Like

  4. jgavinallan says:

    Victoria..there is not a gum I have not tried..I am addicted to it. I discovered gum rather late in life…and WOW!
    lol
    being silly
    Jaye
    PS: I think all sugarless gum is dangerous…sugar gets a bad rap

    Like

  5. Just don’t let your dog get a hold of it! One of ours did and it cost almost $400–apparently there is an ingredient in some sugar-free gums that can be dangerous to them. Arrrgh.

    Like

  6. dragonkatet says:

    Ohhhh – I haven’t tried that gum yet, but your piece makes me want to, now! 🙂 The images were delicious.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

