Stars and Midnight Blue


Cover of "A Christmas Story (Full Screen ...

Cover of A Christmas Story (Full Screen Edition)

Stars and Midnight Blue

In winter stillness
deep within the Earth Mother
tiny seeds gestate.

White rose in winter
miracles we don’t expect
our God comes to earth.

A long winter sleep
introspective mother bear
prepares for new life.

Christmas Eve arrives
children with eyes wide open
Stars and Midnight Blue.

Nature celebrates
light in the midst of darkness
a Christmas story.

Lobster and champagne
leaving the past behind us
ring in the New Year.

Harsh winds bitter cold
North Dakota immigrants
Giants in the Earth.

Escape winter cold
snowbirds get out of this place
fly to Palm Desert.

Palm Desert-Photo: D.Slotto

Quote:
I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show. ~Andrew Wyeth

Poem:
The Snow Man by Wallace Stevens

One must have a mind of winter
To regard the frost and the boughs
Of pine-trees crushed with snow;

And have been cold a long time
To behold the junipers shagged with ice
The spruces rough in the distant glitter

Of the January sun; and not to think
Of any misery in the sound of the wind,
In the sound of a few leaves,

Which is the sound of the land
Full of the same wind
That is blowing in the same bare place

For the listener, who listens in the snow,
And, nothing himself, beholds
Nothing that is not there and the nothing that is.

Favorites:

Word: Stillness

Flower: Rose

Animal: Bear

Song: Stars and Midnight Blue by Enya

Movie: A Christmas Story

Food: Lobster

Book: Giants in the Earth

Town: Palm Desert, California

Image:

Photo: V.Ceretto-Slotto

 

Linked to Broken Sparkles’ Season’s Favorites Challenge: http://brokensparkles.wordpress.com/

13 thoughts on “Stars and Midnight Blue

  1. […] wings of eagles. Like a frozen rose and a February song the stars whispered Christmas tales in the Midnight blue to hide the shadow of a smile, the cry of a lonely wolf. And the warmth seemed so […]

    Like

  2. Cherlyn says:

    I’m late getting to this, but I’m glad I remembered to stop by! Stillness…what an excellent word for Winter! I love your list, it’s great!

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    Beautiful images. Loved the Stevens poem.

    Like

  4. dragonkatet says:

    Absolutely BRILLIANT, Victoria! I LOVE, love, love how you put them all into haikus! You have some great choices, here. I love that movie and oh my gosh, Lobster is divine. I had forgotten all about that wonderful poem by Wallace Stevens! Thank you for reminding me of it and for sharing your list with the rest of us. 🙂

    Like

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    I can barely imagine a winter and Christmas in Palm Desert. Took me years to get used to the Bay area and no snow!

    This is a lovely, lovely collection, Victoria! And I do love the poem and the take off from “A Christmas Story” … clever!

    Wallace Steven’s poem is a very fine choice. Altogehter a good read and perfect response to Blaga’s Seasons Challenge!

    Happy days …

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Beautifully done, Victoria. I enjoyed your favorites for winter–almost put me in the Christmas spirit!

    Like

  7. mish says:

    Hi Victoria ~ I love your selection of winter items … especially the quote and the animal … prefer prawns in place of lobster though …
    You can find my contribution at : http://writer-in-transit.co.za/seasons-favorite-blogging-challenge-winter/

    Like

  8. I must say, the end

    Escape winter cold
    snowbirds get out of this place
    fly to Palm Desert

    is my favorite here. The cold is what frightens me in winters, so the idea of being in Palm Springs sound delightful. I’ve heard from a friend it’s lovely over there. Thank you so much for participating and this week and do not worry if you miss the last part! Joy was the point of the challenge not obligations! Be blessed Victoria! Happy weekend!

    Like

  9. I feel cooler after reading this lovely poem, Liv. Also, the image of Ralphie made me smile; we all love that movie in our family.

    Although I’m prompted out, this seemed like an intricate, intriguing one. Would that I had the brain cells. You nailed it, though!

    Like

  10. siggiofmaine says:

    I enjoyed reading this very much.
    Must get a handle on the seasons…and answers to the Challenge…just for myself.
    I feel I have lived in a cave not having answers to the questions,
    and then realize, life passed me by when I spent so much time working…
    Time to figure out the Four seasons.
    Thanks for the inspiration.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  11. jgavinallan says:

    ok my list…
    word-peace
    flower-rose
    animal-tiger
    song-Tong Hua—you tube it///michael wong—you’ll need kleenex
    movie-The Road Home—more kleenex(two boxes)
    food-pizza
    book-ghost works by adina pelle
    town-hermosa beach

    PS: your poetry is soooo descriptive…so much in so few words.
    PS part 2: we need a poem about winter…it was 104 today
    Jaye

    Like

  12. leah says:

    THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY. LOVELY POEM

    Like

  13. DW says:

    Fly to palm dessert…heheh….clever 🙂

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

