Neon Kisses–Open Link Night at dVerse Poets’ Pub


Neon Kisses

I didn’t notice the color of your jacket
or your eyes.
Battered by rain and wind
we walked side-by-side.
Neon lights reflected on wet asphalt
blinked their messages in blurred colors.

Nor did I notice where you took me
or that we had to wait for hours.
Your words hung, suspended in air
like notes of a symphonic chorus,
at times harmonic chords,
reverberated, crashing down around me.

I didn’t notice that the rain had stopped,
leaving in the air a fragrant breath
of moon-fresh night.
Nor did I grasp the fact that when you left
the cold closed in, enveloped me like a shroud.

The only thing I hold in memory:
kisses. The taste you left upon my lips,
your touch,
your smile.

Linked to Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub where we share a drink or two, great poetry and friendship. Come on over! http://dversepoets.com

33 thoughts on “Neon Kisses–Open Link Night at dVerse Poets’ Pub

  1. ROMANCE in capital letters … so intense and grippingly sensuous.
    WOW … dream-like.
    Toodles, Izzy

    Like

  2. Bodhirose says:

    I like that the memories are of his kisses, touches and his smile.

    Like

  3. Wonderful depiction of how memory affects us. How beautiful. It just took me back 35 years to a similar night when I kissed a young woman too. I don’t remember what she was wearing, really just a conglomerate of different things that I remember seeing her wear around that time. I don’t specifically remember the sheen of the wet cobblestone street, but I know it was cobblestone and I know it was wet. I’m sure it was overcast and no stars were shining, but my memory doesn’t recall that specifically. I don’t remember which gasthouse in Goeppingen, Germany we had just left, we visited so many. But I do remember holding her hand very well, feeling the warmth of it in my own, even today. I remember stopping our gait, turning to look at one another, her falling into me, me embracing her, pushing her back against the side of a small, random darkened house on this narrow, 16th century street at two o’clock in the morning. I don’t remember the color of that house. Or the name of the street. But I succinctly remember the taste of her lip gloss and wishing that moment would never end. A memory that was somehow tucked away, saved for those special moments, and when I read splendid poems like this one. I just wanted you to know that is what your poem did to me. Thank you……

    Like

  4. Lovely. And I like the changes of colour.

    Like

  5. Now this is my kind of read right here! Love love love it! A new fave! 🙂

    Like

  6. mairmusic says:

    Lovely, romantic– the starry-eyed breathlessness is contagious. Nice.

    Like

  7. ~L says:

    You kinda left me speechless… I shall read it again… I liked it that much.

    Like

  8. Your comment on mine made me … smile! Hope you find a waterfall not too far away *winks

    Like

  9. oh, this was a delight! my type of poetry! lovely!

    Like

  10. Ooooo, the air a fragrant breath of moon-fresh night! how brilliant is that, and this whole neon flashing poem?

    Sweet love, I remember not noticing the rain and wind battering in new love too.

    Wonderful, as always.

    xo

    Like

  11. I just love that last stanza, Victoria.

    Pamela

    Like

  12. expatinCAT says:

    Memories are a seesaw of pain and pleasure…// Peter.

    Like

  13. kez says:

    beautiful yet sad ….thank you for sharing x

    Like

  14. klrs09 says:

    Brought back such sweet memories! Lovely poem.

    Favorite lines:
    I didn’t notice that the rain had stopped,
    leaving in the air a fragrant breath

    Like

  15. mish says:

    This is sooo romantic … and I really loved the musical references in the 2nd stanza : ” symphonic chorus … harmonic chords ” … a feeling of being so ‘in-sync’ with the other person …
    The colourful typo added a lovely creative finishing touch !! 🙂

    Like

  16. David King says:

    vivinfrance has taken the words right out of my mouth, but it’s good enough to forgive anything.

    Like

  17. A sad romantic piece…beautifully captured memory.

    Like

  18. jenneandrews says:

    Romantic and evocative for this reader– a lovely delineation of what seems/sounds like a chance meeting that became much more. Beautiful- xj http://parolavivace.blogspot.com

    Like

  19. As a true romantic I am absolutely besotted by this verse! I love the rain (having grown up in England, it is very romantic no matter what anyone says.) I love that the writer was so involved, so taken in the moment that she didn’t remember lots of things, save that which was important, his kisses. Wow.

    Like

  20. What a beautiful, evocative poem!

    Like

  21. Sheila Moore says:

    Good to focus on the positive. I enjoyed the kaleidoscopic language in this.

    Like

  22. Lovely, textural piece. These lines are gorgeous:
    “leaving in the air a fragrant breath
    of moon-fresh night.”

    Like

  23. dani says:

    “leaving in the air a fragrant breath
    of moon-fresh night”

    a line every poet will wish they had written {i’m so envious, i’m greener than Kermit!}

    your writing is stunning and the title, image and changing colors of type all enhance it beautifully, Victoria! Love it! ♥

    Like

  24. brian says:

    nice…sounds like your focus was in the right place with everything going on around you …they were the center…which contrast all the lovely descriptions you give well…nice write victoria…

    Like

  25. TheMsLvh says:

    I recently experienced something like this … if you have the time check out what I wrote about it.

    http://themslvh.wordpress.com/2011/07/17/flash-in-time

    :Your lips were course, wearing five o’clock shade;
    burned a memory in my lip that stayed.

    I know this feeling…
    Great Poem!!

    Like

  26. Bittersweet, but more sweet than bitter. Your color scheme was a nice touch, but the final lines really made the whole piece sing. So glad you got this into dverse, where I will travel later as well. Great work! Amy

    Like

  27. Beautiful. Am choked up, actually brought tears to my eyes. Reminded me of the night I met my husband (of 30 years) on a blind date. I don’t remember what we talked about, and only vague memories of where we went and whether we ate, but I remember that we felt a strong “connection,” and I still remember the kiss. Just finished reading to my husband, too.
    Lovely. Perfect words. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  28. Awwww beautiful pictures but, so sad to be left with just the memory.

    Like

  29. Pat Hatt says:

    A wonderful way to remember, sad too thought, great piece as always!

    Like

  30. ayala says:

    so sad…beautiful!

    Like

  31. Heaven says:

    So sad.. the memory of that last kiss can sear in our memory for a long time.

    Like

  32. a beautiful way to remember a lover…sweet and sad all at once.

    Like

  33. vivinfrance says:

    For someone who didn’t notice or remember, you’ve given us a lot of detail! I like the irony of that, re-inforcing the importance of those memories.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

