Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Back to School


The hustle and bustle of Back to School

Image by usag.yongsan via Flickr

In our part of the world, children are preparing to return to school today. Last week, I hazarded my way to Wal-Mart–a daunting experience under the best of circumstances–and the store was crawling with Moms and kids, gathering school supplies and clothes. I spoke to a few of them and they were all looking forward to starting a new school year.

I guess that, in southern hemispheres, the school year is preparing to wind down.

For today’s prompt, write a poem, essay, or short fiction about school. It may be an experience you have had, or preparing your own children or grandchildren. Perhaps you’ll choose to write a child’s poem or maybe you’ll tackle the three R’s–reading, ‘riting and ‘rithmetic. Do you want to describe an old school house or a chaotic classroom? If teaching is in your background, try writing from the point of view of a teacher.

Have fun with this. Now, go buy a package of nice sharp pencils. And please, Link up and share with one another.

29 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Back to School

  1. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt – Back to School (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    A great prompt, Victoria, and Blaga did such a good job with it.

    Like

  3. I’m late but I’m here 🙂 Time and I seem to be enemies these days … Off to read what others offered! Thanks for this week’s fun Victoria!

    Like

  4. […] the mail box after a long day at work. Thank you Michelle! I also submit this to Victoria’s Monday Morning Writing Prompt with theme – Back to […]

    Like

  5. dani says:

    thanks for the prompt, Victoria!

    Like

  6. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt   at   liv2write2day’s Blog prompt:    Back to school  {thank you, Victoria!} […]

    Like

  7. School days – school days – dear old golden rule days – Mmmm – that’s what popped into my mind.
    I love that movie, too. How could anyone not feel something when you watch a Disney movie?
    This was a fun prompt, Victoria. I continued my little story of sweet Isabella.
    If you haven’t read the first one it’s about her summer vacation adventure.

    Here it is :
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/isabellas-big-adventure/

    Now for the one from the prompt … here it is :

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/isabellas-first-day-at-school/

    Like

  8. Thanks for being here, Siggi. I always enjoy your ability to say a lot in few words.

    Like

  9. Bodhirose says:

    I’m linked up. A short story from my days working at a private school.

    http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/lost-and-found/

    Like

  10. […] My entry for Monday Morning Writing Prompt: Back to School   https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/monday-morning-writing-prompt-back-to-school/#respond […]

    Like

  11. David King says:

    I enjoyed responding to this prompt and have posted my contribution. I shall be back shortly to do some visiting.

    Like

  12. mish says:

    I enjoyed this prompt ! Decided on a reflective approach …
    http://writer-in-transit.co.za/school/

    Like

  13. […] out the prompt at Victoria's blog : https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/monday-morning-writing-prompt-back-to-school/ Joomla Web Design and Auto Web Design Extensions by IDPRO – Web Design South Coast Jeep Dealership […]

    Like

  14. vivinfrance says:

    A short prose piece from me this week.

    Like

  15. […] https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/monday-morning-writing-prompt-back-to-school/    Victoria’s prompt is to write something about school –  My contribution is a fictionalised version of a story told by my Scottish sister in law, who used to be an infant teacher.  I hope the dialect is comprehensible. Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Standing Against Oil Sands—and Standing for the Climate Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Like

  16. zongrik says:

    I had to write something silly for this.

    Like

  17. siggiofmaine says:

    Charming…love it !

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

