Star Jasmine


This is one of the first poems I posted, before I knew anyone in the poetry blogging community. I thought I’d repost it for dVerse Open Link Night. Happy Spring, every one. Enjoy this time of rebirth to bring forth poetry.

List of psychedelic plants

List of psychedelic plants (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Star Jasmine

They say that fragrance and memory
stroll hand-in-hand
into the past.
I rediscover innocence
on a California evening
in the desert.

ย 

Photo: GNU Free Documentation License

32 thoughts on “Star Jasmine

  1. I hope the memory is one of lovely connection on a day of beautiful sunrise. In whiff just the other day a of some very fresh fragrance of the jasmine I had, it rather stunned my senses for a second.

    Like

  2. Princess says:

    nice poem.. thanks for sharing and welcome spring

    Like

  3. brian miller says:

    great to see you today too victoria…smiles.

    Like

  4. beckykilsby says:

    That’s wonderful Victoria..I immediately want to stand and smell the night jasmine in my garden..but have to wait a couple of hours until dusk. Beautiful.

    Like

  5. Rachel says:

    Your words are so sweet and pretty. Just like the flower. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Patti says:

    I love the simplicity of this, Victoria. In just a few words, you give us a whole unwritten story. Well done!

    Like

  7. It’s all very Proustian. And so very good.

    Like

  8. aprille says:

    With me it is Coppertone and Cape Cod that go hand-in-hand, or rather nostril-in-brain:-)
    Not quite as sophisticated as your combination.

    Like

  9. siubhan says:

    i also find scent heavily linked to memory, and this takes me back to my own sojourn in the california desert… mmmmm. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. Eve Redwater says:

    Perfumed and beautiful!

    Like

  11. Semaphore says:

    Ah, that is wonderful, and an example where the title and the poem work so well together. You didn’t have to create a long exposition, but capture that moment of blissful inhalation – and memory – so wonderfully… and as a memoir about memory, I love the way the poem folds in upon itself.

    Like

  12. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Victoria, I like this piece a lot. I’ve always liked the idea of objects, places etc.. that spark a change, an uplift, or simply a memory. Very nice job of combining reflection and this aspect here. Thanks

    Like

  13. vivinfrance says:

    Mmm! Nice. Scents are linked with memories for me too.

    Like

  14. claudia says:

    the scent of jasmine is so strong…and increases in the evening…and i can really smell it in your words victoria… and fragrance and memory do indeed stroll hand in hand…i have learned this too…as we don’t filter them with our brain…goes straight to the heart..

    Like

  15. I would like to find the smell that would help me rediscover innocence. Thank you for that :).

    Like

  16. siggiofmaine says:

    What a wonderful line…
    “They say that fragrance and memory
    stroll hand-in-hand”
    brought to mind the Memory Gardens
    so popular and bring such joy at nursing homes.

    Thank you,
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  17. Jody Collins says:

    Victoria–we lived for 18 years in Fresno in the San Joaquin valley….I well remember the scent of jasmine wafting through the warm evening air. Oh the memories, whenever I happen upon it in a florists shop I am right there again, enjoying an evening walk.
    Smells and memory–we should have a poetry circle about that–d Verse maybe?

    Like

  18. Mary says:

    Ah, Victoria, this is beautiful. So simple, yet so complex. Happy spring!

    Like

  19. If I could learn to write like this, I’d save a million words a year, and more people would know what I was writing about, Excellente!

    Like

  20. Fragrance, memory, innocence – I love how these three words speak to one another. They say that odors trigger memory more than any other sense. You captured it beautifully here in a bouquet of romance.

    Like

  21. I have a bottle of Opium, by Yves St Laurent, which although its empty now, still has the fragrance in it, as I open it, memories come flooding back. This is lovely Victoria.

    Like

  22. leahJlynn says:

    sounds like a lovely evening, love the first two lines

    Like

  23. Ravenblack says:

    Like this one very much, Victoria. Smells and fragrances are hardly noted at present, until reappear again to remind. Brings it all back gently. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  24. simple, elegant, meaningful!

    Like

  25. ManicDdaily says:

    I am looking for my madeleine and tea! Lovely. K.

    Like

  26. Laurie Kolp says:

    I like the simplicity and calm feeling this evokes.

    Like

  27. ayala says:

    Love this,Victoria…fragrance and memory
    stroll hand-in-hand…..so true.

    Like

  28. hedgewitch says:

    Very simple, and very satisfying, Victoria. So many of the best things are like that.

    Like

  29. Adura Ojo says:

    Always a joy to rediscover innocence in the simple things…I love your sweet and beautiful offering, Victoria.

    Like

  30. zongrik says:

    i love how you write about the California desert so often ๐Ÿ˜‰

    opportunity on mars

    Like

  31. brian miller says:

    smiles….lovely….scent does carry many memory markers for me…i like the thought of innocense having a smell as well…and i can just about smell it…it is cool to go back to those early poems too…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

