Thunderstorm


Thunderstorm in Kansas

Thunderstorm in Kansas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This week I’m submitting a brief poem to Open Link Night because I just had my eyes dilated and can’t see diddly-squat. I will return to read and comment, most likely in the morning.

Thunderstorm

The jaundiced sky turned dark
then belched
after a flash of heartburn.

I’m also calling on you, my poet friends and support team, for your input on a title for my first volume of poetry. Could you take a moment and complete the following Poll? Your comments are welcome as well. Thank you so much.

By the way, the title choice will drive the poems I choose.

30 thoughts on “Thunderstorm

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    I’m just popping through to see what I might have missed and chuckling again at this one.

    diddly-squat – that would be a technical term, eh? 😉

    Happy days, Victoria.

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Ummmm . . . I can feel that storm ….

    Good luck with next book. I voted.

    Like

  3. dragonkatet says:

    What a neat picture, and I am in AWE of how fantastic your haikus are, Victoria. Yours are some of the best I have ever read. 🙂 I voted for Jacaranda Rain – I love the way that sounds and the image it evokes. When will it be coming out and will you also have it on Amazon? I hope so!

    Like

  4. Jacaranda Rain sounds very exotic, I’d certainly get a book with such a name!

    Like

  5. wolfsrosebud says:

    nice… I had to laugh… diff, The State of Color

    Like

  6. Shawn says:

    I think my heart stops sometimes when the light cracks. Nice play with words!

    Like

  7. I surmise by the poll results that people don’t like “death” in the title. But I find that title (‘The Death of Orange’) more intriguing than the others. I wonder if you’d mind saying what it signifies?

    Like

  8. Umesh Rao says:

    I loved the first line ~ The jaundiced sky turned dark!

    Like

  9. Quirina says:

    Your poem makes me feel like I am in the belly of a dragon. 🙂

    I voted Jacaranda Rain, because I lived with purple Novembers in Johannesburg and Pretoria in South Africa for a very long time. I love Jacaranda trees. 🙂

    Like

  10. Congratulations! I am looking forward to reading your collection!

    Like

  11. ayala says:

    Nice…and good luck with the title…Keeper of memories is lovely!

    Like

  12. Great work with the shorter form.

    And Poetry: Electric Bugaloo? Yeah, didn’t think so. Seriously though, I voted and, I guess if push comes to shove, just go with your instincts.

    Like

  13. wood says:

    ah, i like it. i like how you have portrayed the stormy sky as being sick. this little haiku reminded me of the works of issa, the personification and the touch of humor. very well written

    Like

  14. tigerbrite says:

    I voted and your poem made me smile.

    Like

  15. Ravenblack says:

    A belch, it is. 🙂 Thunderstorms here often looks dangerous but only lasts a while.

    Voted. 🙂

    Like

  16. Wonderful and unique description of a thunderstorm. Perfect!

    Like

  17. Mary says:

    I voted. And I liked your impression of a thunderstorm!

    Like

  18. Thanks for going ahead and writing tonight! Kudos! Always love a thunderstorm — we are getting rain here too — nothing like a heartburn to announce itself in surprise echoes!! 🙂

    Like

  19. Nice capture of the thunderstorm ~ I voted ~

    Like

  20. leahJlynn says:

    congrats and i’ll bless you luck on that title. Cute, little poem and explanation of a thunderstorm

    Like

  21. amivglobus says:

    Do immature storms belch the alphabet, I wonder? 😉
    I love the imagery in this.

    {ami}
    http://sundrysumthins.wordpress.com/

    Like

  22. I had my pupils dilated like that a couple of times. It’s very freaky to try to see afterwards, to say the least. Take care.

    Like

  23. siggiofmaine says:

    I voted assuming you picked titles that fit somehow the poems…and now I want to say I love this poem…belched…what a wonderful word for a burst of thunder. So unique and fitting.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  24. Susan says:

    I laughed, too, honestly, it works so well! I particularly like the switch of time order, that made belch=thunder a theatrical surprise.

    Like

  25. Anne Katherine says:

    Great personification and description of the sky with very few but well chosen words.

    Like

  26. brian miller says:

    ok you got my vote…and you made me laugh with your verse…the personification of the sky—belching…i do like a good storm though…all its power and fury…i was just wondering what it ate in case i needed to offer a breath mint…smiles…

    Like

  27. claudia says:

    great capture of a thunderstorm…LOVE thunderstorm (when i’m safe inside, tucked under a warm blanket with a cup of hot chocolate..smiles..) and hope your eyes are well soon.. thanks also again for the great memorial post at dVerse

    Like

  28. vivinfrance says:

    I like your courage in writing come what may! And the result is superb. witty. I couldn’t suggest an alternative title without seeing the poems! But I voted anyway.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

