Alien Clouds


Sierra Wave - Lenticular Clouds

Sierra Wave – Lenticular Clouds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is an old, quirky little poem that I’m posting in response to the Chazinator’s (Charles Miller) prompt for dVerse Meeting the Bar. Inspired by the life and work of Ray Bradbury, who died this past week, we’re traveling to worlds unknown, dimensions beyond.ย 

Because I’m working fast and furiously to meet a deadline, my poetry the past few weeks is a bit lacking, but I thought this might be a fun. Nevada, where I live most of the year, is known for Area 51 and many stories of UFO sightings. It’s also known for this:

Alien Clouds

You can understand why
Nevada has its stories.
Lenticular clouds
hover in the Eastโ€”
horizontal orbs
ready to scoop you up
and carry you to places
unknown.

24 thoughts on “Alien Clouds

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    Love it, there’s always the possibility … you never know…but I’d need something more sturdy than a cloud to wisk me away.
    Thanks,
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  2. kolembo says:

    Lovely little ditty here!
    I believe in aliens….
    Yes it HAS been a while hasn’t it?
    I’m still not quite into it yet, I had a very long year, filled chock full of losses, just loss everywhere!

    …but I feel stirrings…I won’t push.
    Nice to see you though!

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Ah yes, we’ve heart the stories. Love the poem and perfect photo to go with.

    Good luck with what my boss used to call “look-alive line” …

    Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Love the photo..beautiful clouds…love the poem about those clouds..would NOT like to be picked up and carried off by one.

    Like

  5. zongrik says:

    oh yeah, i know why these stories come up in the desert

    Astrophotographer Seeks Stellar Bodies

    Like

  6. Adura says:

    It’s got this escapist feeling that I love. Well penned.

    Like

  7. Sweet, like it a lot, nicely done.

    Like

  8. dfb says:

    I remember clouds like this when I was young…. then I don’t remember anything! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  9. Those clouds look like space ships ~ Haven’t seen them though in my side of the world ~

    Like

  10. David King says:

    Quirky but thoroughly likeable. Fine work.

    Like

  11. vivinfrance says:

    Excellent poem – it does what it says on the tin.
    I love looking at clouds, specially those odd shaped lenticular ones, which you don’t see very often here.

    Like

  12. vivinfrance says:

    Clouds fascinate me, odd-shaped lenticular ones in particular. I wonder…..
    Excellent poem. It does what it says on the din!

    Like

  13. Cool clouds, these ones look quite ominous, a bit like spaceships!

    Like

  14. seingraham says:

    I’m with Manic – not sure whether I want to be picked up by one of those clouds or not …
    but, I do love the poem

    http://aleapingelephant.blogspot.ca/2012/06/honouring-dead-and-encounters.html

    Like

  15. Susan says:

    Very clear; evocative too!

    Like

  16. claudia says:

    wow…would love to board one of those clouds..and maybe meet some martians…hehe…they look mysterious indeed..

    Like

  17. Good luck with your deadlines Victoria! I was so sad to hear the other day about Ray Bradbury … but may we all reach his age and talent and remember him with honor and respect! As for the poem, lovely clouds description and yes, after reading, one wants to be there and capture the sky with a camera!

    Like

  18. ManicDdaily says:

    I’m never sure whether I want to be picked up or not. Lovely poem. k.

    Like

  19. Chazinator says:

    Great photo and words combined to get the idea across. I don’t believe those stories about Area 51 myself, but they do make for some interesting TV shows! From your picture I can indeed see why some of the stories make some headway into being believed.

    Like

  20. yoga-adan says:

    wow, you really picked the perfect pic to go with your verse, nice ๐Ÿ˜‰ thanks victoria! best wishes on those deadline projects !

    Like

  21. jenowenby says:

    I love it! Great poem.

    Like

  22. LOL… the truth is… out there! Little grey men … area 51… you have it all ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  23. brian miller says:

    ha. but area 51 is real you know….oo we oo we oo….haha…cool clouds they do look like flying saucers….and have spurred i imagine many a story…as long as they leave the probes at home….smiles…

    Like

  24. leahJlynn says:

    You make want to visit Nevada, for non gambling reason. When I read your work I just want to pick up a camera a go (iphone

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

