Five Sentence Fiction: Faerie Land


This week’s prompt for Five Sentence Fiction  is to write a pithy story inspired by the word “Faerie.” This wasn’t easy for me–not that I’m a skeptic–but I’m not a reader of fantasy.

If you’ve never visited FSF, come on, join the fun and add some flash fiction of your own.

Free Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Faerie Land

The tension in Carl’s voice was like a violin wound too tight when he asked his wife’s best friend, Alicia, if she had seen or spoken to Naomi.

Not since Tuesday, was the response; she was blathering on that there’s more  to this world than we can see. She cut the call short, said she had to get back out into the garden where someone was waiting for her beneath the irises. She couldn’t stop sneezing–told me it was faerie dust.

I haven’t seen her since Tuesday morning, Carl replied.

18 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction: Faerie Land

  1. Poet Laundry says:

    Victoria, I too am not much of a fantasy reader, but this piece piqued my interest and I want more! Nicely done.

    Like

  2. Yousei Hime says:

    You did wonderfully. Now where is the rest? 😉

    Like

  3. Way cool take on the prompt! I’d go linger under the iris’ too if there were faery creatures there. Nice job 🙂

    Like

  4. JTsuruoka says:

    I like the voice and flow of your piece… very crisp.

    Like

  5. Brad Stanton says:

    very fun five sentances of fancy fantasy fairy fiction, feeling fine reading it.

    Like

  6. Nice job! I would have a tough time with this assignment! 🙂

    Like

  7. souldipper says:

    Ah har! The wee faeries got her! Yeay! 😀

    Like

  8. dragonkatet says:

    Lol, for someone who doesn’t visit the land of fantasy, you sure did a great job placing the characters smack in the middle of it! 😀

    Like

  9. tigerbrite says:

    She must have found the faery ring 🙂

    Like

  10. Big smiles here! Sounds like Naomi and my character both got what they wanted. And I love the photo you found to go with it. “Under the irises…” Perfect.

    Like

  11. brian says:

    she’s off to never never land…peter can be quite the scoundrel you know…smiles.

    Like

  12. You did a great job, Victoria. I love the picture! Now you’ve got me wondering, what has become of Naomi?
    I don’t know too much about faeries or the fantasy genre either…

    Like

  13. Louise says:

    Oh dear….poor Carl 😉 Very clever story that leaves the reader thinking…. & that’s a beautiful pic….:)

    Like

  14. Lora Mitchell says:

    I was all set to compliment the beautiful Iris in your cover photo when you mentioned it in your story. Very clever. Hmm….wonder where Naomi is?

    Like

  15. Susan says:

    “beneath the irises”! Very neat!

    Like

  16. vivinfrance says:

    I like that you made the faerie (Yuk) fantasy sound normal.

    Like

  17. Jamie Dedes says:

    What a great job and what fun. Wouldn’t know you weren’t intimate with fantasy. 😉

    Like

  18. TheOthers1 says:

    The faeries were more fun than reality. Understandable.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

