Early Morning Coffee with Mary Oliver


Photo Credit: David Slotto

I sit in dappled
early morning light
sipping poetry—
earth-bound,

heaven-infused.
Nature simmers beauty,
breathes the freshness
of a flawless new day.

The shadow of a hawk
flutters by,
skims dry-grass-
gold of a near-by hill.

A blackbird nags.
Wrens and finches punctuate
from pendulous branches
of our cherry tree.

A flash of orange
meets orange. Copulates.
Red hot pokers
seduce orioles.

Ample branches
of our Ash
conduct the choir.
I applaud.

Submitted to dVerse Poets’ Pub, Open Link Night.

26 thoughts on “Early Morning Coffee with Mary Oliver

  1. dragonkatet says:

    What a bright and cheery picture you paint! It matches the photo well and gave me a big smile. Thanks for that and for sharing this one with us. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Sets a lovely mood.

    Your hubby’s photo is perfectly beautiful too and goes well with the poem. Wonderful collaboration.

    Like

  3. Poet Laundry says:

    Lovely read. I really enjoy the ambiance of the moment you recreated for us.

    Like

  4. yoga-adan says:

    beautiful image and evocative words, starting right from the opening gate :

    “I sit in dappled
    early morning light
    sipping poetry”

    i just stopped there for a while and soaked that one in 😉

    then the litany and chorus of bird interactions, very much felt it; we lived next to a small preserve on the west end in galveston for a yr & 1/2, and it’s just amazing what a bit of sanctuary can provide, and seems your ash is doing a great job of that! enjoy 😉

    Like

  5. Just love the image of the conversing birds.

    Like

  6. Lovely, lovely. And a very Mary Oliver sensibility. 🙂

    Like

  7. Mary says:

    That is a stunning photo. And I love reading about the early morning birds. Who needs television!

    Like

  8. Sue Judd says:

    Beautiful write…I love the opening
    “I sit in dappled
    early morning light
    sipping poetry—”

    Like

  9. Mary Oliver is my muse so I loved how you wrote this with her kind of focus.

    Like

  10. Susan says:

    I LOVE THIS!
    I did something similar this morning.

    Like

  11. Steve King says:

    The world does sing, especially through birds. Great inspiration.

    Like

  12. amivglobus says:

    I love the image of sipping poetry.

    {ami}
    http://sundrysumthins.wordpress.com/

    Like

  13. Irene says:

    So wonderful, Victoria. I love bird poems. The title is so soothing apt.

    Like

  14. ManicDdaily says:

    Very pretty poem. A lovely scene, beautifully told. k.

    Like

  15. Becky says:

    Yes!
    Perfect!
    It sounded like you and Mary could have been there together.

    Like

  16. zongrik says:

    i like the image of the ash conducting the choir!!

    sonnet 41

    Like

  17. I like the entwining of you and Mary, a match made in heaven, beautiful!

    Like

  18. janehewey says:

    this is supple, alive, and gorgeous.

    Like

  19. And I too, applaud. This is so lovely. Gentle, filled with beautiful imagery I could picture the scene you were seeing and hearing.
    A wonderful read.

    Like

  20. brian miller says:

    oh wow you got quite the show today…thanks for capturing it and spreading hte love a bit…really nice visuals…i could see it and hear it all….clap clap clap…

    Like

  21. souldipper says:

    I’m living your first verse, Victoria. The rest of this great poem began to lift me out of my earth-bound status. I was about to fly when I lost trust and here I am again. Some days…

    Like

  22. Gay says:

    Yes I hear echoes of Mary Oliver in this. Her poems often centered on birds and they acted as her metaphors. This is beautiful and peaceful. Thank you.

    Like

  23. This is a very sensual poem in every meaning of the word. Beautiful and clever, my friend.

    Like

  24. ayala says:

    Beautiful…I love sipping poetry 😉

    Like

  25. Claudia says:

    i applaud as well..what a beautiful and atmospheric piece victoria..wish i could’ve been there

    Like

  26. vivinfrance says:

    This is one of the most beautiful of your poems that I have read. Lovely.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

