Craving


This poem is a response to two previous prompts at dVerse: Anna Montgromery’s Meeting the Bar on experimental poetry and Claudia Schonfeld’s Poetics on food. I wrote it a while back, using a technique I turn to occasionally when in a writing drought. The idea is to take a dictionary and choose 10-20 words at random, words that appeal to you based on both sound and meaning, then use as many as you can, adding the fewest number of other words possible.

Image: Kamil Honisch via Google Images

Craving

Mangoes dance adagio
on slivers of dreams that float
solitary
in the periwinkle wilderness.

Flushed mussels nest
beside curling wisps of smoke
where tongues pluck nectar.

Writhing slices of apple pie
burn urgency.
Remember to wink,
mulling fantasies,
while you knit.

Linking today at dVerse Open Link Night, hosted by Joe Hesch. Please join us for some amazing poetic talent. For a while, I’m having to limit my time at the computer because of some (inconvenient, not serious) health issues…so please understand if my comments are sparse. I will read as many as possible, however…always those who visit me. Thanks, fellow poets.

29 thoughts on “Craving

  1. dragonkatet says:

    I love your idea with the dictionary. I should try this sometime. Do get to feeling better soon. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    The word voluptuous comes to mind. I like!

    Like

  3. Other Mary says:

    Victoria this is beautiful and luscious! Thank you for sharing your method too. I often get dry spells, and I will give this a try. It really gets one thinking outside the box to make connections between disparate things. Great job!

    Like

  4. Yes, I’m craving something right now…I just don’t know what. Mangos? More of anything satisfying?

    I love that abstract painting! 🙂

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Oh, I love to think about those writhing slices of apple pie!

    Like

  6. Carrie Burtt says:

    Thank you Victoria….I did not see my typo until you asked about it….it is letting go…..I should not rush so when participating in prompts. Thanks again. 🙂

    Like

  7. Apple pie hmmmm…. Your poem taste so sweet 🙂

    Like

  8. leahJlynn says:

    This was awesome to read, a great blend of words you’ve written

    Like

  9. Carrie Burtt says:

    This is beautiful indeed!!

    Like

  10. Wow. I should be so lucky to create so with random words from the dictionary. The images here are startlingly (the apple pie, the tongue) and appreciate. Also appreciate that you make a way through to writing when in a drought. I usually shut-down or just dislike anything I attempt. I am leaving here to go and nibble at dictionaries. Thank you for post.

    Like

  11. Sabio Lantz says:

    dancing flavors, nice

    Like

  12. very cool concept to write a poem…and guess what…i’m just having breakfast…and it’s müsli with freshly cut mango slices…smiles

    Like

  13. Mohana says:

    Oh! Such a pretty poem 🙂 “mangoes dance adagio” is wow!

    Like

  14. jmgoyder says:

    This is delightful!

    Like

  15. Juicy! Very fertile with the poetry of food.

    Like

  16. Delicious:

    “Mangoes dance adagio”

    “beside curling wisps of smoke
    where tongues pluck nectar”

    Holy cats; this is awesome:

    “Writhing slices of apple pie
    burn urgency.”

    You are magic.

    Like

  17. scrumptious! feel better, Victoria!

    Like

  18. Patti says:

    Love this, Victoria! I’m going to keep your poetic divining rod in mind for the next drought.

    Like

  19. Poet Laundry says:

    Gorgeous write, a delight for the senses.

    Like

  20. Serena says:

    Yes, you do make food sound sexy. I love the sound of your technique and will definitely try it sometime.

    Like

  21. wolfsrosebud says:

    i liked the ending line… wink

    Like

  22. A tasty, aromatic write that woke my sense. Very kool!

    Like

  23. It is awfully saucy and yummy :). Great mix of prompts and the diction is scrumptious! Add that dash of art and you have created the recipe for this fantastic poem!

    Like

  24. It is tasty. And the image of mango next to periwinkle is pleasing to my mind’s eye.

    Like

  25. brian miller says:

    well now…you make food sexy victoria….and make them dance on my plate….it is still before dinner here…but i may need a break just to relieve my grumbling stomach on reading this…smiles.

    Like

  26. ayala says:

    Delicious write! I hope you feel better soon , best wishes. 🙂

    Like

  27. rebecca2000 says:

    Wonderful imagery 🙂

    Like

  28. vivinfrance says:

    Amazingly sensuous. Scrumptious imagery!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

