Life at 60-something


Image: drawception.com

i’m outrageous
flaunt clashing colors
listen to dissonant music
dance

wear long hair
flowing dresses
comfortable shoes
make-up only if i feel like it

start new a career
in the arts

open my mouth
speak my truth
(kindly)

shock, provoke thoughtfulness
step outside limits
of socially-conditioned
firmly-held
unshakable beliefs

question
challenge
hold firm or disregard

spend time each day in non-productivity
reflecting
doubting
probing

I understand now
god is not
a tightly packaged
sealed commodity
not limited at all
too fun and playful for theologians

can’t wait for the next surprise.

This is a really old poem written just when I’d turned 60. I’ve never shared it before so thought I’d join the fray at dVerse where Mary is having us reflect upon the stages of life. Now that I’m closer to 70 (yikes) I’m not so sure about that last line. And I lost the long hair a while back.

34 thoughts on “Life at 60-something

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Bravo! Shades of “when I am an old woman I will wear purple” … I just loved it.

    Like

  2. I love your poem and much of it describes me. 🙂

    Like

  3. WEM says:

    Very fun read. Enjoyed

    Like

  4. dragonkatet says:

    It sounds like you are FREE (in all manner of speaking)! 😀 What a wonderful thing to have in life!

    Like

  5. ayala says:

    A fun write, Victoria. I have a feeling that in your heart you will be forever young.
    So great that you will get to meet Claudia soon. I wish I was there.

    Like

  6. pinkladybing says:

    still rockin’ at 60 and lookin’ forward to more surprises… sounds fun to me! as always, this is a beautiful piece from you. 🙂

    Like

  7. brian miller says:

    smiles….good to see you today victoria…hope you are doing well….

    Like

  8. jenneandrews says:

    Victoria– great specifics, which such a sweeping prompt requires, I think– and I love the spiritedness in this piece– we must be close in age, yes? 64 here…can’t believe it. Thanks for stopping by yesterday! xxxj

    Like

  9. dani says:

    there are definite advantages to getting older! and i take advantage every chance i get! {smile}

    Like

  10. sreeja says:

    full of spirit…..got some energy from here ….enjoyed…great.

    Like

  11. Sabio Lantz says:

    It is never to late to wake up and enjoy!

    Like

  12. Victoria! I do wish I lived next door to you. I’d have loved you at 60 and know we’c get on famously now. I am 53, but my closest friends are all in their mid-60’s. The lessons learned and peace developed over decades are so very valuable.
    Now, your poem… wonderful! and all that!

    Like

  13. I want to be more creative and adventurous as I grow older ~ I wish I have the luxury of doing what I want, but alas work and family obligations bog me down ~ Cheers to many more wonderful years ~

    Like

  14. Laurie Kolp says:

    I think that is the joy of aging… leaving all those preconceived notions behind, letting your hair down and not giving a damn about what others think.

    Like

  15. A good attitude,Victoria. Age is a state of mind.

    Like

  16. ha…after reading this, i’m even more curious to meet you…smiles…think with the getting older comes def. some freedom..nice..

    Like

  17. ladynimue says:

    I totally love this ! and your spirit .. I wish we all could live so carefree and honest all our life 🙂

    Like

  18. leahJlynn says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you were either of these ages. your writing is very on point with the times. And thanks you for sharing your personal poem with us.

    Like

  19. vivinfrance says:

    I’m with you all the way, Victoria, a child compared with me, whose three-quarters of a century is in just over a month! Losing the long hair is a good idea – long hair with an old fact is very ageing! This poem could have come from the book which is currently occupying the bedside spot: When I Am An Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple – an anthology of poetry by older women, not just the famous title poem! Some of them are harrowing, but most are very wise.

    “start new a career
    in the arts” Did you mean start a new career, or start anew a career?

    Like

  20. peggygoetz says:

    I enjoyed this Victoria and also enjoyed reading your biography–what a life full of surprises! I feel similar to the way you describe here about my stage in life (I am 65)–though I never had the patience for long hair and flowy dresses tend to get in my way! But the spirit is there.

    Like

  21. siggiofmaine says:

    Thanks for sharing. I just got an email from a younger friend (I’m two weeks older !) that said she agreed with “getting old isn’t for sissies”. Approaching 70 is a milestone to reflect on….as was all the other “zero’s”… next year I will start saying I am in my “70th year” so when I turn 70 the following year, it will seem not so old.

    Thanks for sharing….those who haven’t been “there” will be some day !

    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  22. I really liked your write and especially the last paragraph. On your other site ,also I like your last entry about the hummingbirds and wondered if you feed them the simple syrup or the vitamin enriched stuff they make nowadays. I have never seen a pure white one. I have been feeding them in two states now. It is interesting.

    Like

    • I just use 3 parts water and 1 part sugar…no color or additives. The white ones are extremely ware. I never expect to see another. It was a gift. I also feed them in 2 states (here in Reno and in Palm Desert Calif.where we “meet” to get out of the cold!)

      Like

  23. Love your poem, Victoria. I’m hobbling after you, but I refuse to lose my wild hair. I know what you mean about the next surprise – just hope it is a good one, hee hee. (Let’s report back, shall we?)

    Like

  24. I like your attitude, Victoria. And, I’m a lot like you! Love the poem!

    Like

  25. ManicDdaily says:

    Ha! A lot of fun. k.

    Like

  26. Love this. Unless we’ve never minded being seen as a little bit ‘different’ there comes a time when we reach a certain age where, we simply just don’t care who think what about us anymore and we have learned that we were always only ever meant to live our own lives for ourselves and not to please others who thought we should live it their way.
    All of this made me SMILE! >>> Freedom!

    Like

  27. rebecca2000 says:

    This makes me think I would adore you. I plan on living my life to the fullest until I take my last breath.

    Great one!

    x,
    Becca
    Ladyornot.com

    Like

  28. brian miller says:

    smiles…there is a nice freedom that you have found in your youth there victoria…smiles…this was fun…and god is much more than stuff old men with big thoughts….ha.ha. love that…

    Like

  29. Mary says:

    Victoria, I love this and am so glad you shared your poem of a certain age. It definitely is the time to speak your truth unashamedly. You have earned this, and good that you take advantage of it.. Yes, doubt, reflect, and probe all you wish. I hear you and feel the strength in this poem, whether or not you are closer to 60 or 60! Sing out loud and clear.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

