Transience


Photo Credit: catphi.com via Google Images

In the corner, by the Ash, leaves pile high.
The hummingbird feeder, empty now,
succumbs to wind, knocks on the side of our house.
Its patrons no longer inhabit the naked tree.

A lone cricket’s cry speaks of its imminent demise.
Color carpets the yard, swirls about me.
Behind the maple a pile of leaves, dry and brittle,
have spent their beauty, crunch beneath my footfall.

Last night I shredded leaves of a journal
written thirty years ago. The past remains a part of me—
its joys and angst, the questions yet unanswered.
Today, the garden’s loss molders, prepares to nourish tomorrow.

Photo: officeshredding.com

Written and linked to dVerse Open Link Night  –with prayers for all of you feeling the effects of Sandy. I was tempted to write of her devastation, but need to reflect a bit more on this difficult situation. I will be on the road Thursday and Friday, driving to Southern California to celebrate my mom’s 92nd birthday. This gives me a chance to meet up with our own Claudia who is nearby. I’m very much looking forward to this opportunity. In the meantime, hope to “see” you all at the poets’ pub tonight.

22 thoughts on “Transience

  1. becca givens says:

    A treasure indeed, Victoria — lovely post! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

  2. tigerbrite says:

    This is so melodic and beautiful. So descriptive of this time of year when the wheel has come full circle at halloween.
    http://planetcyberluz.com/2012/10/27/summers-end/

    Like

  3. The visual of the empty hummingbird feeder did it for me. A season has changed.

    Like

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    Beautifully done and remembering the tranience of life is important. The last line of this poem is important and just simply wonderful.

    Like

  5. fantastic piece Victoria. The wordplay here with leaves is very nicely played and a lot of fun to see develop here. Thanks, great read.

    Like

  6. beckykilsby says:

    This is really effective at combining the tangible, that which can be destroyed and which changes with the season, and those things that evolve internally, in our hearts and minds. Lovely piece, Victoria.

    Like

  7. I love the way this refers from one kind of leaf to another, from season’s change to personal change. It really is what we carry inside that counts. Beautifully visual, wonderfully penned!

    Like

  8. I loved this poem..the imminent demise of the cricket moved me…I don’t really know why you shredded your journal. I have shredded all of my letters and papers. It was a sort of inexplicable urge to do it.Very interesting poem . I have read it a few times. A keeper. Ha!

    Like

  9. Patti says:

    I loved coming upon the shredding of the journal buried in the images of autumn and the coming of winter. It felt like another step in putting one year to rest in anticipation of a new one. I really enjoyed it.

    Like

  10. jmgoyder says:

    Shredding and shedding – such a wonderful poem.

    Like

  11. leahJlynn says:

    If this is a true story, I complete get shredding old stories that once gave you joy. But, exprience as made us smarter

    Like

  12. this has a very melancholic feel…the shredding of the journal..i did this with one of mine some years ago…yet..it’s written in the heart and soul..and can’t be erased easily…the good and the bad… so looking forward to meeting you…

    Like

  13. kaykuala says:

    So poignant a piece,Victoria! It would not be easy to do away from 30 yrs of one’s life. Anyway have fun and say hello to your grandma and Claudia!

    Hank

    Like

  14. tashtoo says:

    Aha…I too have burned journals from my past…as cathartic an act as it was…the memories indeed remain. A fantastic example of your craft, here Victoria…already, a poem is churning in my mind. Travel safe!

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    Hmm, Victoria, I haven’t heard a cricket in a while. I don’t where they go in winter. But not hearing them seems to be a definite sigh that late Autumn is here. I feel very sad about you shredding the leaves of a journal from 30 years ago, and I wonder what brought you to that. . I don’t think I can part with my early words.. Someone else will have to make that decision ….someday

    Like

  16. wolfsrosebud says:

    nice comparison… so you did get out in the garden… I heard a solitary cricket last week too… oh, the changing of any season

    Like

  17. This was very touching.

    Like

  18. Isn’t that an incredible thought, that something you have kept for 30 is now shredded but, can still be used to help something else to live and to grow. Love that thought.
    The imagery is beautiful.
    Safe travels.

    Like

  19. yelena says:

    poignant and so touching, Victoria..love the last stanza especially.

    Like

  20. Lovely fall imagery. Beautiful poem.

    Like

  21. brian miller says:

    i hope you travel well….this is really good victoria…each line is almost able to stand alone in it too as you stack them together….love the bit on the shredding of the old journal….dont know if i could make myself do that…just saying…lots of great texture in this…and nature, smiles.

    Like

  22. Poet Laundry says:

    Beautifully depicted Victoria. Love this.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

