A World Ablaze


A world ablaze,
reports of crime,
flood cities raze—
the end of time?

Wind whispers death,
old ones, alone,
kid’s shooting meth,
our earth’s sad groan.

Fear mongers thrive
reporting gloom.
The markets dive,
foretelling gloom.

Missiles destroy
both home and life,
snuff season’s joy
with words of strife.

Turn off the news.
We have a voice.
Let hope infuse
our every choice.

Each moment’s gift,
each breath we take—
life-music’s riff,
that’s what at stake.

The plethora of tragedy and doom in the news, the nearing of the End Time as foretold by the Mayan Prophecy, war, natural disasters…there seems never to be an end of subjects to throw us into dismay and to tear us out of the present moment. I’m having a bit of a poetic dry spell so I’ve turned to meter and rhyme to jumpstart the muse. This falls short of what I would hope for, but it’s what I’ve got. As they say: “Show up and write.” And I love the 12 Step Program’s advice: “Progress, not perfection.” So here it is, for dVerse Poets’ Open Link Night. Please stop by the pub and share a poem of your own. Enjoy today. It’s all we’ve got. And thoughts and prayers to those who are facing difficult times.

Photo Credit: afternoonvoice.com via Google Images, Factory Fire in Pakistan

 

51 thoughts on “A World Ablaze

  1. dragonkatet says:

    You’ve touched on so many important points in this, Victoria. My favorite stanza is:
    Turn off the news.
    We have a voice.
    Let hope infuse
    our every choice.

    As much gloom and doom as is rampant in the world today, we desperately NEED more voices for HOPE. Thank you for being one such voice!

    Like

  2. ladynimue says:

    whether the world ends or not , we always need love and hope !
    not sad news to scare us ..

    wonderfully said victoria 🙂

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Show up and write indeed. I shy away from meter and rhyme too, but as you say it does jump start and here you have made some good point and the poem is fine.

    Hope you had a great day of Giving Thanks.

    Warmest ~
    Jamie

    Like

  4. Greetings Victoria, I have shown up to write most likely only this comment on your timely post. That factory fire with the workers was very sad. I find that so often I’ll pry myself away from news as it is easy to get sucked in then bummed out by all the sensationalized negatory, because mostly lack the power needed to remedy these tragically senseless situations which can be cause for worry, or on the other hand at best prayer. Bad news can be found almost every where it seems, so I like seeing others such as yourself, as with many others here who are finding much better use of free time given to writing, reading or taking opportunity to share beautiful scenery.

    Like

  5. gardenlilie says:

    It’s okay to have a day…like this , but no way to live! So I say pretend you just went to the doc n he/she gave u 5 years or less to live, then what would you do? or how would you look at the world? I like your take on the poem strategy because you never know when you write one down how much you’ll like it, etc., if it will please you that night. Just knowing that every now n then you write one that makes you smile n many others does you good. 🙂 !

    Like

  6. Thanks for the visit Victoria, appreciated 🙂

    Like

  7. ladynyo says:

    You know what, Victoria? We have a frog in the well mentality when it comes to evaluating our ‘times’. This stuff about the Mayan calendar, makes me laugh! All these nay sayers and fear mongelers make no sense or beauty of the world. Just look out our windows and see the marvel of Nature and surely it doesn’t end. Only for some of us who get caught up in the world’s travails, like fire, bombing, floods…and this is mostly natural…except when it’s not.

    I have a friend who is only 52 and so tired of life she HOPES that the world ends on this Mayan calendar jazz…so she doesn’t have to work (graphic artist) anymore. What a stupid, shortsighted, self-absorbed attitude! There is always much to live for, or to hope others live if you are terminal…..

    Is there any more reason that depression is so rampant in our society than that we listen to such stuff and nonsense? Life is wonderful, even if we don’t have long to live, because it endures….and the seasons cycle and the birds still fly and new things are born, and hell, we should turn off the TV.

    Good poem, no dry spell in it. It says something very important to my mind.

    Lady Nyo…going to hug her chickens right now. No eggs but they got feathers~!!

    Like

  8. nico says:

    Right on here. I have no real proof of this, but I suspect life has always been a pretty nasty affair–it’s just that now we pay people to make it news! Great writing–someone mentioned a dry spell?!?!

    Like

  9. […] Victoria’s contribution of dVerse Poet’s open night prompted me to post this poem.  https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/a-world-ablaze/ […]

    Like

  10. tigerbrite says:

    Well done. Turn off the TV. I don’t watch the news any more If it’s good they think it’s not news.

    Like

  11. kkkkaty says:

    We all need a break from the woes,of the world.. especially since we can’t solve them; but you put it into perspective here as we cannot simply sit idly by…make a point of making a small difference for the betterment of mankind….every day…

    Like

  12. The only way people like me survive the world is by severe editing . We delete most it.Once the truth is known there is no need to keep on knowing it..our own creations are better:)

    Like

  13. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I love ‘show up and write’ and ‘progress not perfection’ – and I love the poem too.

    Like

  14. I did just that Victoria; I turned off the tv and stopped reading the paper three years ago. Funny the whole world got lighter and brighter when I did. 🙂

    Like

  15. Thank you for this one…

    Like

  16. Poet Laundry says:

    Once we’re out of hope it’s all over right? Amen to prayers for those suffering right now.

    Like

  17. Darker and darker, the world, the news, the rumors of unkind. Loved the rhyme and short lines. Excellente!

    Like

  18. PJF Sayers says:

    Victoria, it is hard to not pay attention to what is going on in the world. The news media love to sensationalize to the point of nausea. Straight forward write about this crazy world we live in. As for the Mayan prophecy, it is supposed to be a shift in people’s way of thinking and interacting, not the end of the world. That is what many people here have told me. Who knows how accurate that is, but it sure sounds better to me 🙂

    Pamela

    Like

    • That is how I accept it and I believe it’s not something that will happen all at once. I think it is (and has been) on-going–throughout the history of man…spiritual evolution. There have been so many prophecies about the end of time that have never happened. That’s why I think it’s so important to focus (as much as possible) on the NOW. It’s all we have.

      Like

  19. Sabio Lantz says:

    Compliments on just writing even when dry. I agree with you about the prophets of doom: New Age, Christian, Muslim, Republican or whom ever!
    But hell, a lot of people are having a horrible year — horrible.
    Not the end of the world, just the end of many lives — unnecessarily.
    With nature trying to eat us, why do we kill each other?
    Thanx for making me think!

    Like

  20. kelly says:

    Let hope infuse our every choice… Yes, this is how I try to live my life. Intriguing verse.

    Like

  21. There seems to be nothing but bad news…for some reason that is what sells. Love how you infused some light into the darkness.

    Like

  22. marousia says:

    Love the final stanza … we are still here after all despite the awful histories of humanity

    Like

  23. wolfsrosebud says:

    sometimes it’s all overwhelming

    Like

  24. It seems everywhere we turn we are bombarded with more and more doomsayers. I think I am going to surround myself with family, turn on a good movie…and stirup some hot chocolate for the night! 🙂

    Like

  25. It’s true the news only reports the doom and gloom that’s what sells, and the end of times seem to have been coming for a long time yet, we’re still here and there’s a lot to be thankful for too…hope is always alive.

    Like

  26. It is rather grim these days. I sometimes turn my head because it’s tough to see. I do believe there is hope, though, always. Thanks for a compelling offering.

    Like

  27. STEVE E says:

    Well…I guess if I live (really) in this moment, I don’t need to worry about the whole dammm day. And I DO think about the state of the world…TOO much!

    What did the guy say? “In the end, everything will be OK. If everything is not OK…Well, then it’s not the END!!!”

    Like

  28. ihatepoetry says:

    This was perfect – loved it.

    Like

  29. hypercryptical says:

    I would echo Mary’s words in that we have lived with ‘doom and gloom’ all our lives and I have lived through – and survived – several forecast Armaggedons.

    I always tend to look on the bright side of life, always hoping for the best.

    Anna :o]

    Like

  30. I love rhyming poetry…news on my side’s been awful too, so I can relate! thank you for the thread of hope

    Like

  31. rmp says:

    lovely verse. it made me think of a song by Anne Murray called “Good News”–one of my favorites; every once in awhile I think it would be interesting to hear an updated version of the song.

    anyway, your message rings beautifully.

    Like

  32. Laurie Kolp says:

    It is horrible watching the news. Everything is sensationalized and blown out of proportion according to the news channel’s opinions. That’s why I especially like this:

    Turn off the news.
    We have a voice.
    Let hope infuse
    our every choice.

    Like

  33. I like this piece – it offers a solution – an introspection and peace as answer to headlines sensationalizing tragedy. Well done.

    Like

  34. rodkok says:

    This is a brilliant write. It says so much about the state of the world we live in. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  35. ayala says:

    The news is full of doom and gloom…hope is a great thing to have.

    Like

  36. Teresa says:

    I love the encouragement here. I get so tired of the bad news, and I think this is a good reminder to have hope.

    Like

  37. Mama Zen says:

    This is true. Without hope, we have nothing left.

    Like

  38. the turmoil in the world is hard to digest as daily bread…but we seem to be fed by it…bkm

    Like

  39. I agree with all of this. If we are in the end times, it seems as if we are rushing ahead to make it happen too) then, let’s hope something begins again which has a lot more love and compassion than most of our own species ever has for its own kind.I still too have hope that we can pull back from the brink of whatever we are at but somehow, we need a huge wake up call to stop with the ego that seems to dictate now.

    Like

  40. souldipper says:

    Isn’t it wild? All this negativity thrown at us constantly? Amazing we survive with as much positivity as exists. Causes me to polish my gratitude for the Internet where I can find an abundant supply of positive concepts .

    Speaking of which… why does one blog’s title have to be the one I remember? It is so negative! “Could the Internet be the cause of WWIII?” Why sow such negativity? Why does my mind snag that sort of “stuff” like velcro in a storm of dandelion fluff?

    It takes energy and effort to pick that off my consciousness. I am determined!

    Glad you ‘suited up and showed up’, Victoria.

    Like

  41. Susan says:

    I love the rhymes and rhythm that takes what is too much to express into little spoonfuls of poison and then delivers the antidote–so much is at stake! And it is only our spirits/actions, small as they are, which will ease the time and restore sanity. I’m glad you let this poem live. I imagine it expanding before your eyes now, letting you see the art you have wrought out of the un-tame-able, the unfathomable. Thank you, thank you!

    Like

  42. sreeja says:

    yes there is a gloomy effect to all these news…but yes hope is the rope….enjoyed your words.

    Like

  43. claudia says:

    we’re living surely in dark times but what i love is that you don’t stop there but instead point to the difference we can make, the light we can bring, the different tunes we can throw in and change the melody…maybe not completely, but we’re not doomed to just watch but make a difference where we are…i like…

    Like

  44. Victoria–this has quite a message–and I like your progress here. The line “counting down to apocalypse” keeps ringing in my ears, and perhaps I will do something with it.

    Like

  45. brian miller says:

    let hope infuse our voices….a cry of sanity there…our world is a rather dark place right now…at least if you watch the news or keep up on current events…and i am surprised in one sense we dont hear more end of times….esp with the whole mayan thing coming….i think often life is what we make of it…if we look for tragedy we will surely find it…wouldnt it be interesting if the news reported all the good things going on…or at least a better balance…

    Like

  46. Mary says:

    I agree with the idea of progress, not perfection, Victoria.

    It definitely is hard to listen to the doom and gloom in the news, isn’t it? But then realistically I think how many decades (or even centuries) have people when thinking doom and gloom; and we are are all still here yet. I do think we have to maintain hope, find hope, and there IS hope, I think. Without hope, what is the joy of life?

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

