Halcyon Eve


Photo Credit: antpitta.com from Google Images

Photo Credit: antpitta.com from Google Images

Of a halcyon evening as cirrus clouds
stipple a brooding sky, a warbler
practices her octaves in a minor key, alone.

Descending to her lavabo, she fluffs her feathers,
artfully brushes water on the bark of an over-hanging branch,
drinks deeply from the phial of the Carolina Jasmine.

I relish the unraveling of another day’s discord,
splurge on the inherent beauty of my garden,
and listen as she resumes her chant.

Linking to dVerse Open Link Night, hosted by Natasha from her very cold Canadian abode. Please join us.

I wrote this poem using words selected at random from the dictionary.

18 thoughts on “Halcyon Eve

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    How sensual and full of movement. I love that you likened the bath to a lavabo. Wonderful poem. Enjoyed much.

    Like

  2. dani says:

    i NEVER would have guessed you had used random words ~ the flow is so natural.

    especially love “splurge on the inherent beauty of my garden” ~ it is a luxury to have the time to truly look at the beauty around us.

    wonderful write, Victoria!

    i hope the new year is treating you well!

    Like

  3. jasmine calyx says:

    I love this line: “I relish the unraveling of another day’s discord”

    Like

  4. Myrna says:

    I like this. It was like a treat, a moment of nice pictures in my mind. You wrote this beautifully. Amazing how you did this from random words in the dictionary. Hope you had fun doing it.

    Like

  5. This is lovely, Victoria. Love the images you’ve painted with your words here.

    Like

  6. rebelle says:

    I so like the musicality of this. Well played!

    Like

  7. I can hear her, too. 🙂

    Like

  8. beckykilsby says:

    Wonderful long deep breath to counter the day –
    I relish the unraveling of another day’s discord,

    Great line Victoria and enjoyed the shared experience.

    Like

  9. This is a peaceful read Victoria. I could visualise it all as I read. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  10. vivinfrance says:

    A wonderful way to produce such poetry! Halcyon is one of my favourite words. Halcyonidae are kingfishers!

    Like

  11. ladynimue says:

    you paint beautiful pictures 🙂

    Like

  12. claudia says:

    oh what a wonderful magical moment…listening to her minor key tunes..a wonderful serene word painting victoria…and i’m such a fan of minor key songs..

    Like

  13. I kept thinking I had new words to look up… before I read your note. How fun and what a great prompt to use. But still, I love…
    I relish the unraveling of another day’s discord = )

    Like

  14. leahJlyn says:

    what inspirational garden you have. Thank you for the lovey vision

    Like

  15. siggiofmaine says:

    I was fun and interesting to read this knowing you picked words at
    random from the dictionary
    Very pleasing and mindful.

    Like

  16. Mary says:

    What a beautiful poem describing a restful scene! It relaxes me as I read it. Breathe. Breathe. Breathe!

    Like

  17. brian miller says:

    ah you paint the scene beautifully not only to tickle the eyes but the ears victoria….smiles..i relish the unraveling as well…

    Like

  18. Love the octaves, Victoria. Just beautiful.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

