Lingering


Beside the front porch, peonies
explode—vibrant, incarnadine
complex blooms. Petals cache
secret crevices, hold beauty close.

I want to linger.

Photo credit: scoutcapecod.blogspot.com

Photo credit: scoutcapecod.blogspot.com

 

A train at a standstill across
the river gasps for breath, hisses
its need to move along toward
destiny. Slow start, a wheeze.
It inches forward, heading East.

But I, I want to linger.

Photo credit: tahoebest.com

Photo credit: tahoebest.com

Two doves cavort from tree-
to-tree. Amid cheat grass, columbine
grows wild. The river rolls, no rush,
and sacred bird-song trills, thrills.

Oh, how I want to linger.

Photo credit: fineartamerica

Photo credit: fineartamerica

Back home my projects wait.
A newly crafted action plan—
dead-lines, set in bold typeface,
folders placed in toppling piles.

But still, I have to linger.

Photo credit: techstudentblog

Photo credit: techstudentblog

Recently, for Meeting the Bar, Anna Graham inspired us to write about velleity and volition.  The a-fore-mentioned action plan kept me from getting this done in time for MTB, but here it is. One of the best things about OLN is being able to play catch-up. This came to me a few days ago when I took the dogs on a walk along the Truckee river.

We hope you’ll join us Tuesday at 3:00 PM EDT over at the Poetry Pub.

23 thoughts on “Lingering

  1. Lindy Lee says:

    Pictures & words upon which to linger & contemplate…

    Like

  2. L says:

    So like how you employed the repeating phrase…

    Like

  3. Thank you for allowing me to linger a bit with you and the peonies and the river – beautiful K

    Like

  4. Kelvin S.M. says:

    ..ah, i can truly relate to this Victoria…. it’s as if you’ve sang my own agonies… smiles…. now i have to linger and live your last stanza… thanks for the poem… smiles,,,

    Like

  5. henna ink says:

    “secret crevices, hold beauty close”

    I love this line, as well as your repeated.

    I really like this, all on its own, as an individual poem:

    “Beside the front porch, peonies
    explode—vibrant, incarnadine
    complex blooms. Petals cache
    secret crevices, hold beauty close.

    I want to linger.”

    Like

  6. I had not attempted this prompt, but the lingering vs. the action in each scene, even peonies blooming… very nicely done. I haven’t read you in a while, my bad. Look what I’ve been missing! The best for me was the final stanza, followed by that evil flow chart or whatever it was. Seems like the opposite of creativity! Peace, Amy

    Like

  7. Pamela says:

    Victoria, you have described perfectly what living here does for me. I actually take the time to linger now. Beautiful poem.

    Pamela

    Like

  8. Lori Lipsky says:

    The wise ones linger…thank you for the reminder. Lovely words.

    Like

  9. siggiofmaine says:

    I love your response to the challenge…excellent pacing and the lingering…I so understand that. Thank you …I enjoyed this very much.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi

    Like

  10. ayala says:

    I find myself having the desire to linger more often than before. Nature definitely brings it out in me. Nice write, Victoria.

    Like

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    I would want to linger in all that beauty, too.

    Like

  12. nico says:

    Excellent poem–Nature gives us of her strength, if we are patient enough. Maybe, if we linger long enough, we will be able to complete our plans and yet remain sane! Great job.

    Like

  13. I like that want to linger from different angles ~ The moment of beauty before it quickly passes, the journey and those deadlines, they serve a purpose ~ I still have to write to this prompt ~

    Like

  14. And thus was it ever… 😉

    Like

  15. Timoteo says:

    I liked “dead-lines.”

    Like

  16. Mary says:

    Enjoyed the glimpses of nature. There is something very beautiful about peonies. And in the midst of doves too. (I’d like to linger in both of those places too!) Home projects….well, necessities, but not particularly enjoyable lingerings. Sigh~

    Like

  17. Jamie Dedes says:

    FYI: “Hot Chocolate With Mary” goes up at 12:01 a.m. 5/22, Wednesday on”Into the Bardo.” Thank you!

    Like

  18. viv blake says:

    Such a beautiful response to that difficult prompt. See you at OLN.

    Like

  19. Jamie Dedes says:

    A fine response to the challenge. I like the way you go from wanting to linger over beauty and adventure to having to linger to handle responsibility. Life! Well done. 🙂

    Like

  20. kaykuala says:

    Wanting to linger is a luxury! The problem is one can be overtaken by events and lose momentum. Nicely written Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  21. Victoria, I lingered leisurely between the lines of this lovely offering.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  22. brian miller says:

    nice subtle change the wanting to linger to having to linger in the end…nature is def where i would rather linger…like the inclusion as well of the train…i def have heavy romanticism toward trains…smiles…

    Like

  23. claudia says:

    oh i do understand the desire to linger for a bit….esp. in the face of an action plan…oy…enjoying the flowers and beauty around us and letting our soul linger gives strength to tackle the action plan afterwards…smiles

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

