Cosmic Consciousness–Sunday Whirl


Photo: scienceblogs.com

Photo: scienceblogs.com

Lost in a world of nebulous thoughts,
shooting stars and feathery sparks
bleeding scarlet fingers onto the wet canvas
of my mind, I close my eyes,
tumble into the black hole of doubt,
only to find myself alone
until you close my hand in yours.

I return from the inky swirl
of a watery grave when you
pull me close, into your embrace.
Together we sway to the rhythm,
of the universe’s dance—the now.
I unearth faith once more.

Written for Brenda’s prompt at the Sunday Whirl. The words we were to use are below. I just couldn’t work in oiled.

Photo: The Sunday Whirl

Photo: The Sunday Whirl

19 thoughts on “Cosmic Consciousness–Sunday Whirl

  1. I just woke up from a bad watery end dream so this felt very apt! Lovely rhythm to the piece.

    Like

  2. Jeep Walters says:

    Brava, Victoria! Enjoyed this!

    Like

  3. Nanka says:

    Very comforting,just like after going through a whirlwind and safely touching base!!

    Like

  4. both brain hemispheres are at work here!

    Like

  5. Oh, to be blanketed by a velvet midnight sky…you captured the soul and the lust of it so divinely.

    Like

  6. Mishla says:

    O! I love this. The night tremors so real and then the loving hand that pulls you to comfort.

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    I can see a swaying dance in this one, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

    Like

  8. rmp says:

    love the description in the first stanza and the idea of getting so lost in thought you almost loose yourself. a lovely end as well.

    Like

  9. Love “bleeding scarlet fingers onto the wet canvas”. Maybe it’s the artist in me. Gorgeous words, beautiful flow.

    Like

  10. brian miller says:

    the universe has quite the rhythm doesnt it…smiles….and when in doubt i think we all feel alone…its good to have that one there with you to face it…

    Like

  11. markwindham says:

    very nice indeed, when we find that hand to pull us back

    Like

  12. brenda w says:

    This is lovely and makes me yearn for an end to Len’s shift at work. He comes home, and my universe falls into place.

    Like

  13. daphnepurpus says:

    Wonderfully written–and your “oiled” is perfect!

    Like

  14. Jamie Dedes says:

    A lovely poem and “oiled” not missed at all. LOL!

    What synchronicity. I just pulled Richard Maurice Bucke’s book (Cosmic Consciousness) off the shelf. The last time I read it Rich was two years old – so about 41 years ago. It’s falling apart, but I think will make it through one more read. Yikes!

    Like

  15. Pamela says:

    Very pretty poem, Victoria. I love the last stanza.

    Pamela

    Like

  16. julespaige says:

    From drowning in space to being anchored in love… that is the way to go. Nicely done.

    Thank you for visiting my wordle story verse. The site has links to pages that explain the inspiration of the story, chapters 1-4 (on one page) and all of chapter 5 can be found on one page also. I seem to manage to shoe horn all the words in every week. It is something I enjoy – and I am glad for your visit. 🙂

    Like

  17. annotating60 says:

    Victoria, a very nice write. I love the way it closes.>KB

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

