Monday Meanderings–Prayer for Peace


I have had some computer woes yesterday and today which, at last, seem to be resolved. So for today’s post, I am sharing a link from “Into the Bardo,” an inspirational sharing of prayers from various faith communities for peace. In view of the most unstable world situation, I invite to you stop by and, if you’re so inclined, choose one (or all) and join those of us who see no other approach to the predicament the world of nations faces at this moment in time.

Prayer for Peace  Into the Bardo, posted by Cloaked Monk, Terri Stewart.

I would like to add another, well-known prayer, that of St. Francis:

Photo: Wikipedia Commons

Photo: Wikipedia Commons

The Prayer of Saint Francis

Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.

O divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled as to console,
To be understood as to understand,
To be loved as to love;
For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
It is in dying to self that we are born to eternal life.

Have a peace-filled week.

8 thoughts on “Monday Meanderings–Prayer for Peace

  1. I generally speak to the Divine in my own rambling way, but the prayer of St. Francis is my all time favorite standard prayer. I haven’t learned it to recite it by heart yet (my recovering-Catholic mind resists), but I melt each time I read it.

    Like

  2. brian miller says:

    def the world needs our prayers….if we are ever to achieve peace or anything close to it…

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    What a beautiful, beautiful share, Victoria. I went to the site you linked and visited some of the prayers of different faiths as well. The desire and hope for peace is indeed universal. And I DO love the Prayer of St. Francis!!

    Like

  4. Susan Chast says:

    I keep the St. Francis prayer hanging on the mirror in the bathroom.

    Like

  5. claudia says:

    amen to that prayer of Saint Francis…instead of complaining and lamenting – if we all would just sow some good seeds as well, the world would be a different place…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

