Nighttime, Playtime


Photo: cumbriansky.com

Photo: cumbriansky.com

Nighttime, Playtime
A Nursery Rhyme

I do not want to go to bed;
it’s not quite dark outside.
Ideas dancing in my head
are begging to be tried.

I heard the moon say to the stars
It’s time to go and play.
I will be full, the night is ours.
Oh, Mama, can’t I stay?

I do not want to go to sleep
until the party’s over.
The heaven’s promises are deep;
they won’t wait till I’m older.

Today I’m hosting for dVerse Poetics. I’ve offered the theme of children’s poetry for the prompt. So take a trip back in time and play a little. Write a poem for a child and have a little fun of your own.

42 thoughts on “Nighttime, Playtime

  1. […] Nighttime, Playtime (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] Nighttime, Playtime (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Sweet! Well done …

    Like

  4. clawfish says:

    Brilliant and it rings so true that evasiveness captured

    Like

  5. This really captures the child’s mind and spirit. I love it!

    Like

  6. yikici says:

    This beautifully depicts a childs’ reluctance to go to sleep, what a delightful and fun piece to read. 🙂

    Like

  7. Poet Laundry says:

    Yes, kids do want to avoid bedtime! At least that has been my experience, ha…they just don’t want to miss the fun!

    Like

  8. Imelda says:

    and funny…my poem is an appropriate response to yours. 🙂

    Like

  9. Imelda says:

    Ah…the voice of a child. 🙂 If this is the way my children will argue with me about their staying up late, they will certainly win hands down.

    Like

  10. lynndiane says:

    Positively enjoyed your playful poem, prompt, and picture!

    Like

  11. shanyns says:

    Wonderfully done – this is so like our little man at bedtime. Too much still to see and experience to surrender easily to sleep!

    Like

  12. Pat Hatt says:

    haha fun indeed at your feed, really sounds like the voice of a child running wild

    Like

  13. Irene says:

    The last two lines are my fave.

    Like

  14. Raivenne says:

    Awww! I heard both of my sons to me and myself to my own mother in ardent protest of those mean old bedtimes. Wonderful!

    Like

  15. sweet verse with a playful charm – K

    Like

  16. Aaah, lovely! Thsi really made me smile 🙂

    Like

  17. This is lovely, Victoria. Even with their eyes drooping with fatigue, kids never want to go to bed. Love the picture too. And the iris in your header photo is spectacular – my fave flower!

    Like

  18. Loved this one, Victoria. I can so hear it coming from the voice of a child. A favorite. This should be published in a children’s book for sure!

    Like

  19. janehewey says:

    light and ease, with a polished feel, this is just wonderful!

    Like

  20. So much to do as a child, so little time to do it. Wanting to play to watch the moon and the stars – forget the sleep..far more important things 🙂

    Like

  21. Gorgeous…I think maybe they don’t wait til your older but maybe sometimes in poetry they do… lovely!

    Like

  22. Bryan Ens says:

    I think your poem has captured the imagination and wonder of a child. Quite beautiful!

    Like

  23. How nice when kids have the right to play….As adults we need to remember this basic right to be happy…Enjoyed the poem, Victoria!

    Like

  24. I really like the ending. It is true, heaven’s promises won’t wait long. It’s time to play!

    Like

  25. ManicDdaily says:

    Super charming, Victoria – I like the “slant” rhyme especially, thanks. k.

    Like

  26. kkkkaty1 says:

    So like all of us at one time or another….you make it look so easy to write children’s poetry 😉

    Like

  27. This is what it felt like.. not going to bed.. or lying there trying.. (all those thoughts) and moon and stars.. very cool ballad that could be a sweet song.

    Like

  28. Morgan says:

    I do so love this…and it sounds so familiar. I used to say/do the same thing (sometimes still do!)

    Like

  29. Susan Chast says:

    I wish I had written this one. Imagine, a conspiracy between an child and the universe!

    Like

  30. Sheila says:

    perfect bedtime verse!

    Like

  31. Maggie Grace says:

    i do not want to stop reading your sweet writing.

    Like

  32. Laurie Kolp says:

    This could be a children’s book, Victoria!

    Like

  33. aprille says:

    Oh yes, those years when there was still so much to do when bedtime appeared. I can remember it: playing outside with the neighbourhood kids in the street, in summer and at a time when that was still safe….

    Like

  34. Ruth says:

    lovely rhythm and rhyme – very reminiscent of poetry I loved as a child (and still do)

    Like

  35. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Great minds, yours & mine; my poem is called PLAYTIME as well, making me think a bit of Jacques Tati & Disney & the brothers Grimm; wonder how many others tonight will use “playtime” in their titles? enjoyed this prompt immensely, thanks.

    Like

  36. Oh… that last line was heart breaking for me. How we take such wonders of our childhood for granted and when we understand the beauty of that time, it is too late.
    May be I saw too much in it. Please don’t mind me.
    A beautifully written poem. 🙂
    -HA

    Like

  37. annotating60 says:

    Very good poem Victoria and a very interesting prompt.>KB

    Like

  38. Lovely. Somehow the moon and stars were all part of the romance of childhood for me, despite the wartime blackout.

    Like

  39. brian miller says:

    i want to go play with the moon and the stars….smiles….def there are nights i would rather be playing than sleeping…so hard too when your parents make you go to be early….

    Like

  40. claudia says:

    nice… the moon and the stars having their playtime – no wonder that the kids don’t wanna go to bed… we sometimes sneaked out after dark for a bit to just watch what was going on up there..smiles

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

