Ma Barker’s Boy–the One We Never Heard About.


Flash Fiction, linked to The Sunday Whirl. Check it out and try using the thirteen words offered this week. They’re not easy! If you’re looking for the response to the dVerse prompt on children’s poetry, it’s the previous post.

Ma Barker’s Boy—the One We Never Heard About

Photo: photobiography.com

Photo: photobiography.com

When I regained consciousness, the gravel pitted in my flesh stung as though I’d been dancing with a sea creature whose tentacles held me close, slowly releasing their poison.

My recently vacant mind, now an amalgam of dark thoughts, muddled its way through a fog of nothingness. No one heard my anxious calls for help. No one cared.

I struggled to lift myself from the brick pathway, grabbing hold of a chain link fence nearby. A multitude of notices affixed to the metal announced concert venues, lost dogs and items for sale. Two signs warned me “No Trespassing” and “Post No Notice.” Nothing prohibited me from using it to stand, to keep me from losing my balance.

Once again, though I’d cheated death, I’d lost the war. Everything I’d planned for, had worked for,  had failed. I grabbed hold of a nearby trash can and puked. Disappointment, my constant companion, lingered like a bad taste in my mouth.

I couldn’t go home. I couldn’t tell Ma. I headed in the opposite direction and followed my own path to the future.

geni

 

10 thoughts on “Ma Barker’s Boy–the One We Never Heard About.

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    You’re right. Those aren’t easy words to work with but you did and quite well. Poor Ma, huh? LOL! … I like your spin of the child gone good.

    Like

  2. So well done, almost like something silly enabled him to find to balance and stand on his own two feet a pass to the future…one of his own making… did he succeed I wonder once he slipped her poison tentacles. Great flash! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sabra Bowers says:

    Well done! Enjoyed your story.

    Like

  4. I’m impressed you were able to make all those words work together and tell a cohesive story. Good for you!

    Like

  5. Great story. Those weren’t easy words to weave into a coherent tale, but you did it!

    Like

  6. Wow, what an amazing write, especially using those words. Love this.

    Like

  7. Another Wow piece! I wish I’d thought of trying fiction.

    Like

  8. […] (Note: If you’re looking for The Sunday Whirl, find it here.) […]

    Like

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    Very cool vignette, Victoria. k.

    Like

  10. That is powerful… left me thinking about the individual and personal aspects of a person, often ignored by world. Heart-breaking.
    -HA

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

