Monday Meanderings–Nervous Breakdowns and the Internet


Photo Credit: Victoria Slotto

Photo Credit: Victoria Slotto

Greetings from Palm Desert where I’m trying to grab a bit of solitude for writing purposes. I’ve discovered an inherent bipartisanship between Time Warner (the Internet provider here) and Charter (my e-mail provider). They can’t seem to come together on anything…sound familiar?

I’m not one to ascribe blame like so many in the world of politics do. Both sides of an opinion or ideology have valid points, as well as those that are the product of skillfully spun untruths or exaggerations. Mind you, I won’t sit back and be passive. I’ll vote and express my opinion to those who should do something about it, but most often ignore my views. But here I am…sunk in the sludge of politics when I’m really talking about ISP’s who seem to forget the service part. Gee, that sounds like politics too, dosen’t it?

There, I just saved this document since the one I’d written before is somewhere in cyper-space…along with a few e-mails I’ve tried to receive or send, and the one that translated itself into Greek.

Do you see where I’m going with this? I’m living in a world of uncertainty for a few days, learning to live with ambiguity and, perhaps a bit more solitude than I’d planned on. If you see me, you’ll know my two opposing Internet entities have achieved detente. If not, I’m off spinning poetry and stories for a later date. And that may not be such a bad thing.

One goal I had was to do a bit of tweaking with my blog, set up new pages, refine it a bit. Perhaps all parties will behave as they are at the moment and that will happen. Perhaps I’ll be able to link to dVerse and other blogs. Perhaps not.

And maybe I’ll just need to chuck the whole project till I get home and go out, enjoy the gorgeous weather we have right now and play some more golf. Or dream!

Photo Credit: David Slotto

Photo Credit: David Slotto

12 thoughts on “Monday Meanderings–Nervous Breakdowns and the Internet

  1. souldipper says:

    When technology fails, I certainly see how much I use it! Same with a friend who is visiting there and is amazed at the “weird” bouts of service she experiences. On vacation, it’s acceptable, but if it was steady…yikes. (If you hear swearing in Dutch, it’s likely her!)

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Dreaming sounds wonderful.

    ISPs and communication companies in general seem to skip the service pieces a lot. Sigh! I guess they think they have us over a barrel. I’ll never use A.T.& T. again. That’s for sure.

    Like

  3. Perhaps the Universe is trying to tell you something. Odd that it would be using high tech communications providers to do it, but the Divine does work i mysterious ways… 😉

    If you must work in such a tranquil setting, might I suggest an external flash drive to save your work for a later upload? 🙂

    Like

  4. Lovely relaxing setting for writing and mediating.
    I nearly fell over when I first read this line – One goal I had was to do a bit of tweaking with my blog – I thought that tweaking word was twerking. LOLOL I know you’re not twerking. hahaha
    Enjoy and be of good spirit ….
    namaste
    Izzy

    Like

  5. So sorry you experience these interruptions dear~ Don’t forsake the eternal perspective ok 🙂 Blessings ~Debbie

    Like

  6. claudia says:

    ah smiles…sometimes those enforced internet breaks are not bad at all…. playing gold sounds nice and dreaming even better…smiles… have fun victoria and enjoy the solitude…smiles

    Like

  7. Poor you. I loathe techie problems like that. My ISP and email provider are one and the same, so I don’t seem to have that problem.

    I should just take it as it comes, play golf, dream, write a bit and hope for a speedy resolution.
    Love, Viv

    Like

  8. Bodhirose says:

    Hello my frustrated friend! I agree with scillagrace…follow your bliss…and play more golf. So nice to visit you again, Victoria.

    Like

  9. scillagrace says:

    Be good to yourself; follow your bliss!

    Like

  10. brian miller says:

    i vote for more golf….smiles….ugh…verizon has little in the way of service as well which is why we dumped them as soon as we could….enjoy your solitude…smiles.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

