Between the Storms


kcet

Petals float like paper boats
in swollen rain gutters.
A dove retires to a low-
hanging branch, restrains
her mournful cry and waits.
Ripples dance across the pond,
stir up a pair of egrets.

In the distance, clouds converge
upon the mountain,
mumble to one another.
Their striated predecessors,
ripped apart by wind,
scurry across the valley.

This is my link to the prompt I am offering this evening to The Bardo Group where artists of all disciplines gather to discover diverse spiritual paths and to do what they can, through their creative endeavors, to promote peace.

9 thoughts on “Between the Storms

  1. Beautiful, Victoria.

    Like

  2. Raven Spirit says:

    Now this is beautiful. really beautiful. I loved your prompt. But I loved it on a day when I was very busy and could not write. I wanted to fool with verbs and I did, but I had no time to make a lovely poem – just an awful one. But such is time!

    Like

  3. wolfsrosebud says:

    so love the gentleness in this… and the meandering feeling the piece produces

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    I love the ripples dancing across the pond and stirring up a pair of egrets. This is a very peaceful image to me!

    Like

  5. alan1704 says:

    Ripples dance across the pond, – Love this, how love and acceptance is the true heart of compassion. It only takes one act of kindness.

    Like

  6. claudia says:

    you had me already with the opening line….the leaves as paper boats…before my mind’s eyes they really turned into paper boats and i started thinking all kinds of stories into them…oy… very cool write.. love how you paint and color the scene…loved the mumbling clouds as well

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    How the pond and the sky mirror each other. I can almost feel the dove waiting.

    Like

  8. brian miller says:

    i like the movement in this…the opening one of the petals and paper boats def a fav…smiles…vivid too, like watching in HD….

    Like

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    … and you followed your own guidelines re: verbs beautifully, Victoria. A lovely piece that almost has an almost tactile sense of cool air and wind blowing. Vivid.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

