For the Birds–Monday Meanderings


I have a great appreciation for the beauty of birds. They teach us to depend on nature, to live in the present moment, to enjoy the freedom we are given, to fly in a manner of speaking. Today, I’ll simply share a few photos taken by my husband.

If you feed them, they will come.

(Copyright: David Slotto 2014. Kindly request permission to use them.)

Feeding Time A Twice Daily Event Palm Desert Photo: D. Slotto

Feeding Time
A Twice Daily Event
Palm Desert 2011
Photo: D. Slotto

2013  reno birds,blooms,garden 004b

Quail
Reno, NV
2013
Photo: D. Slotto

Cedar Waxwing Reno 2011 Photo: D. Slotto

Cedar Waxwing
Reno
2011
Photo: D. Slotto

Leucistic Hummingbird Palm Desert CA 2011 Photo: D. Slotto

Leucistic Hummingbird
Palm Desert CA
2011
Photo: D. Slotto

Bullock Oriole Reno, NV 2012 Photo: D. Slotto

Bullock Oriole
Reno, NV
2012
Photo: D. Slotto

5 thoughts on “For the Birds–Monday Meanderings

  1. Thank you for the lovely pictures. I put food out but they don’t come here. At the old house we had a huge population of birds taking the food, despite the many cats around. Birds are one of life’s great pleasures.

    Like

  2. So many pretty species. I saw a quail for the first time in person when I visited my Aunt in Oregon this past summer.

    Like

  3. scillagrace says:

    There’s an emptiness in winter that is suddenly filled with a flicker of flight and a snatch of song. I’m noticing birds now; the void is lifting!

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    David’s photography is exquisite. I tried to feed the birds in my yard like I have done everywhere else I have lived, but developed an overpopulation of pigeons–more than I or my neighbors could support. Fortunately, my writing nook looks into the tree tops, and my little yard is a stopover to more fruitful pastures. I always think of Hamlet in Act V, scene 2:
    HORATIO
    If your mind dislike anything, obey it. I will forestall their repair hither and say you are not fit.
    HAMLET
    Not a whit. We defy augury. There’s a special providence in the fall of a sparrow. If it be now, ’tis not to come. If it be not to come, it will be now. If it be not now, yet it will come—the readiness is all. Since no man of aught he leaves knows, what is ’t to leave betimes? Let be.

    Like

  5. brian miller says:

    ah some beautiful birds there…they are resilient…finding their food…provided for…of course my mind always goes to scripture when i think of the birds….

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

