Permanence–dVerse Meeting the Bar


It’s my pleasure to be hosting today at dVerse Meeting the Bar where I’ve offered some thoughts and a prompt about writing OBJECTS. I would love to see you there. The pub opens 3:00 EST

Here’s mine:

Presence

He sits, unmoving,
front and center:
elderly, rough-hewn, used.

Dark striae traverse his visage
like ripples of a lake
kissed by wind.

Crumbs of food settle within
the crevices of his face.
Glassy eyes reflect candle-glow.

A crumpled sports page rests
on his lap beside the TV remote.
Scratches mar his skin.

He bears the weight of years,
unnoticed most of the time,
rarely caressed by loving hands.

He’s watched our lives unfold.
Strong, like us,
Our coffee table endures.

Photo: D. Slotto

Photo: D. Slotto

As you most likely know, I will be cutting down a bit on blogging in the effort to complete a couple of projects that have been waiting for attention. I am taking a break from hosting at dVerse but will continue to blog…just in a more limited manner for a while!

37 thoughts on “Permanence–dVerse Meeting the Bar

  1. Akila says:

    so much they see and dwell with us in silence…if only they could talk! i wonder the perceptions they would unfold.

    Like

  2. janehewey says:

    your natural mix of compassion and cleverness is strong in this poem, Victoria. Until I saw the picture of your dog, I was convinced the subject was human… which is precisely the spell our animals put us under. (a welcome one, no doubt) I wish you well with your other projects. Diversity can be a very effective stabilizer. ~jane

    Like

  3. Of all the things that I know aren’t permanent, the presence of my darling four-legged companion is certainly one that I bemoan quite frequently (especially as he shows signs of his advancing age which comes with advancing tenderness).

    Like

  4. Miss Stacy says:

    love the personification of the coffee table! lovely work!

    stacy lynn mar
    http://warningthestars.blogspot.com/

    Like

  5. Linda Rogers says:

    LOL-You got me. First I was thinking it was a father in-law or elderly man, then I thought it was your dog. Lovely use of words in your poem.

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    What a gentle ode. The reveal was a surprise nonetheless.

    Like

  7. Mama Zen says:

    Beautifully done, Victoria!

    Like

  8. shanyns says:

    The ever faithful coffee table! Love this. Very cool.

    Like

  9. rosross says:

    Some beautiful wordwork here.

    Like

  10. Like ripples of the wind kiss by wind…I sigh and am in awe of this Vick. Thank you.

    Like

  11. Imelda says:

    That was a good write up! 🙂

    Like

  12. Bodhirose says:

    Well at first I thought it was about that darling face looking up at me. But no it was your trusty coffee table…they are so stoic aren’t they… Success with your work, Victoria…will look for you when you make an appearance now and then.

    Like

  13. Bryan Ens says:

    At the fourth stanza, I thought the “object” you were writing about was your husband. 🙂 I really enjoyed where this went!

    Like

  14. kkkkaty1k says:

    Yes, best wishes on your projects and you will be missed; I thought sure it was your husband at first…then I realized it could not be human….how humanized your table became…and with the dog in front of it!

    Like

  15. Abhra Pal says:

    Interesting and great personification there Victoria, smiles.

    Like

  16. Nara says:

    Love that twist at the end. I thought I was reading about a person up to that point.

    Like

  17. Myrna says:

    Yes, sometimes a piece of furniture has witnessed so much of our history, and renders support. I thought you were referring to an old man at first. Nice how you wove this.

    Like

  18. I understand your needing more time Victoria. I hope your ventures are a success. I like the way you personalize your coffee table. Our furniture and furnishings shape us as we shape them. You wrote about this and more so beautifully here.

    Like

  19. When i read your blog, Victoria, I very often get inspired. Your view and fantasy inspires me. But I am not fond of poems written without form. They are to simple, in my view.

    This view of the coffee table I find very nice. You say it rules, by serving, but without taking charge. It is in power. I like it.

    And you inspired me to write a poem about the coffee table on my own.

    THE COFFEE TABLE

    A coffee table stands
    erect to service hands.
    But it is not a fool.
    It is a simple tool.

    *smile*

    Like

  20. Grace says:

    That coffee table endures & sees so much of lives unfolding~ Good one Victoria ~

    And wishing you much success in your projects ~

    Like

  21. hypercryptical says:

    Love this too Victoria. Until the very end I thought you were writing of the dog – not understanding how he was rarely caressed by loving hands.
    Cleverly done – a great personification indeed.
    Anna :o]

    Like

  22. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Ha ha, I own a noble coffee table much like that!

    Like

  23. alan1704 says:

    I think there is more to this old friend than is here, i wonder who rules at home? Love this!

    Like

  24. Gabriella says:

    I enjoyed your choice of object. Coffee tables certainly have stories to tell!

    Like

  25. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Oh yes, I adore the personalizing of this object, and that you decided it was male; for too many objects & things become incessantly feminized. I was visualizing a family member for sure, an elderly father, uncle, grandfather, and then the twist just brings on the smile, the giggle; and I love that it is a real piece of wood furniture, and not some processed wood product; a perfect illustration of your prompt; thanks, and good luck on your writing hiatus.

    Like

  26. claudia says:

    oh nice.. i bet this coffee table can tell lots and lots of stories… i find tables something so comforting…they always make me talk – ha… love the crumbs on its face and the pic is so cute as well

    Like

  27. A coffee table .. I like that it almost read like a riddle.. and then at the end I went back and read it again, with a smile on my face..

    Like

  28. Brian Miller says:

    nice…you had me wondering who had crumbs on their face…i had the best coffee table once…it had a big hole in the center….it was solid….we gave it to my sister when she moved out on her own…and she sold it…broke my heart…

    Like

  29. A vital part of life, and the untidiest part of this house! I like your affectionate tribute. Enjoy your break – blogging can interfere with real life, so it’s nice to cut it down a bit, as I’ve been doing lately.

    Like

  30. I love how you make a coffee table such a part of things.

    Like

  31. I found the images of dark striae like ripples and the crumbs within his crevices wonderful.
    Great personification. 🙂

    Like

  32. ManicDdaily says:

    Very charming! And great pic. k.

    Like

  33. Mary says:

    Victoria, I love the personification and the comparison. Enjoyed the ending…strong like you. Enjoy your break, Victoria. You will be missed.

    Like

  34. Susan says:

    I love this! I was also going to write about my coffee table, but I may rethink that. The images you present, giving him face and lap ring true.

    Like

  35. K. A. Brace says:

    I liked this very much Victoria. A table like that becomes an old and odd friend. >KB

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

