Ruminations–dVerse Open Link Night


Photo: greenhornphotos.com

Photo: greenhornphotos.com

Citrus trees are coming into bloom
swathing us with fragrance—
visions of a California childhood,
of dreams once dreamt.

Visions of those seeds,
dormant now on desert sands,
longing to be borne anew
upon the breath of Santa Ana winds.

I wish I had smell-o-vision for the photo! I’m linking this to dVerse Open Link Night where poetry flows, begging to be read. Hope you will stop by. The doors open Tuesday, 1500 EST.

26 thoughts on “Ruminations–dVerse Open Link Night

  1. atrm61 says:

    Loved the beauty of Spring taking shape in the seeds -lovely imagery:-)

    Like

  2. Snow is still in bloom here… Thank you for sharing your blossoms and sweet words … we can intuit the scent.

    Like

  3. shanyns says:

    -36C with windchill added on, knee deep snow and spring seems so far away. The apple tree has some apples frozen and clinging, I wonder what the blooms will be like this year? Your poem made me ache for spring madly!

    Like

  4. Bryan Ens says:

    I wish you had smell-o-vision too, but I could *almost* catch the aroma of oranges as I read your poem Simply lovely!!

    Like

  5. To me your words bring smells to me.. what a wonderful way to describe a tree in bloom…

    Like

  6. Joseph Hesch says:

    Your words always drift to this cauliflower ear, maybe carried by those Santa Anas, with a warmth and beauty that make me feel better for that day. Thank you, Victoria.

    Like

  7. kkkkaty1 says:

    I love spending time in San Diego where the winds are prevalent….I can feel your pleaser.

    Like

  8. writing should smell (well sometimes mine does) but I mean scratch and sniff as Brian said. I sighed at that last line Vick – gorgeous.

    Like

  9. I definitely get that fragrance, which is one of my favorites. Well done!

    Like

  10. Very wistful and made me breath deeper.

    Like

  11. humbird says:

    I hear you, smell – such a trigger for our memory and everyday motivation ( for me – very much!) :)xx

    Like

  12. scillagrace says:

    Wishing you enough water for your blooms that they may become juicy fruit later on!

    Like

  13. Truedessa says:

    Citrus trees in bloom reminds me of Florida orange trees..I would love to just go out and pick a fresh one to eat..lovely writing..

    oh and I wanted to wish you well on your writing project..thanks for all the support you have given me over the last year 🙂

    Like

  14. Abhra Pal says:

    Smiles – I feel this sometimes too – if only writing could give that lively smell – especially some close and memorable ones. This one revives some memories for me too!

    Like

  15. Grace says:

    I long forward to those citrus trees to bloom with fragrance ~ Lovely Victoria ~

    Like

  16. Really lovely! I have them blooming now in my yard

    Like

  17. If I close my eyes I can almost smell it.

    Like

  18. Poet Laundry says:

    …sigh…you took us there…just lovely!

    Like

  19. Glenn Buttkus says:

    I spent a decade in CA, being an actor first, then an educator, and those Santa Ana winds were pesky, mostly whipping up wildfires, and cajoling creeks to become rivers running out over the sand. Once Palm Springs was cut off in all 4 directions, and people died trying to run the gam et of hot wind prodigy; see what a bit of poetry can do, can inspire?

    Like

  20. claudia says:

    the scent of spring…of trees and flowers…hmmmm… unfortunately we don’t have citrus trees over here… i love the nod to those that lie dormant in the desert sand as well…waiting for a new birth

    Like

  21. Mama Zen says:

    This is really pretty!

    Like

  22. ManicDdaily says:

    Well I can smell them! Thanks. K.

    Like

  23. Mary says:

    Your poem really makes me want to smell the scent of these blossoms, Victoria. I can understand how something like this would trigger childhood memories as well….and the dreams of that period of life. But, as your second stanza expresses, the longing is still there; and I believe there is always time for fulfillment of those dreams as those seeds come to live anew!

    Like

  24. Brian Miller says:

    mmm i wish it was scratch n sniff as well….we used to have orange trees in the beck yard in florida…and a lime tree…and a banana tree…the lime was my fav….fresh key lime pie…mmmmm….i wonder if in your poem the seeds are as much the childhood memories as anything.

    Like

  25. This poem made me happy. What more could we ask?

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

