Oh Puleeze–Oppossum? Monday Meanderings


I spent the weekend with my mother and was unable to access my blog to post this on time.

Photo: smokinmeat.com

Photo: smokinmeat.com

This year, I’m trying to do more cooking…something that has always been done for me, both to take a bit off my husband’s shoulders and to be able to fen for myself when he will be away for a while later this year. While looking through a well-known cookbook, one that has a large variety of recipes, I stumbled on this recipe. Not so sure about the meat, but it sure served up a good laugh for my mom and me. And humor is so nourishing on a Monday, isn’t it?

If anyone tries this, please don’t tell me about it, okay?

Photo: redbubble.com

Photo: redbubble.com

Opossum Recipe

If possible, trap possum and feed it with milk and cereals for 10 days before killing. Clean, but do not skin. Immerse unskinned animal in water just below the boiling point. Test frequently by plucking at the hair. When it slips out readily, remove the possum from the water and scrape. ..remove red glands in small of back and under each foreleg between the shoulder and the rib. Parboil one hour then roast. Serve with turnip greens.

Have a happy week.

6 thoughts on “Oh Puleeze–Oppossum? Monday Meanderings

  1. claudia says:

    oh my goodness… i won’t try this one…. i love to cook though….. just nothing that looks at me with such soulful eyes…smiles

    Like

  2. I think I’ll give that one a miss. It reminds me of the method of cooking snails, told me by my femme de menage: collect a bucket half-full of snails in the garden (That bit I’d go along with, for the sake of the lettuces); rinse off mud and then fill the bucket with flour. Leave for at least 24 hours for the flour to be eaten, passing through the snails to clean the system. Rinse again, cook and serve with garlic butter. I’ve never tried it, though I have had snails in a restaurant – the best bit being the garlic butter!

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    Oh no…to think that this was actually in a cookbook!

    Like

  4. I’m sure my dogs would love that recipe, me not so much. Remind me not to have dinner round your place. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Brian Miller says:

    we usually just let them last on the side of the road after hitting them with the car…after a few days in the sun they are fully cooked and create their own innard gravy…

    really, just kidding

    Like

  6. scillagrace says:

    Red glands…hmmm. Would that lend a rather musky taste? πŸ˜‰

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

