Monday Meanderings: What’s Special about April?


Image:  batool.com

Image: batool.com

Tomorrow is the first day of April…April 1st, April Fool’s day. A day that conjures up images of trickery and laughter, thoughts of April showers, tulips, spring in all her glory, pastel colors, bunnies, nestlings and so much more. For many who drop by this site, the celebration of poetry takes center stage as, In North America (and across the globe, thanks to the Internet) we celebrate National Poetry Month, 2014. Here’s a little blurb from Poetry.org:

Inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets in 1996, National Poetry Month is now held every April, when schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets throughout the United States band together to celebrate poetry and its vital place in American culture. Thousands of organizations participate through readings, festivals, book displays, workshops, and other events.

National Poetry Month 2014 Poster--poetry.org

National Poetry Month 2014 Poster–poetry.org

April fool that I am, I always make the resolution to write a poem a day–not an easy, perhaps even an unrealistic goal for most of us. Life has a way of interfering. I’ve signed up for, but never succeeded in NaPoWriMo. I’ve participated in Robert Brewer’s Challenge on the Writer’s Digest blog and came up just short of the goal Perfectionist that I am, I get discouraged if I don’t get it just right. But, if I look back at the results from previous years, just by giving it a try, I’ve written more poems and, often, better poems during the month of April.

So this year, I’m aiming to accept limitations. I would like to write more poetry, or even edit existing ones. I’ll try to post a few each week and add in some prompts from time-to-time. Haiku, American Sentences and other short forms work well and demand conciseness, support precise imagery and open up our poetic eyes. Here’s hoping that each of us finds a way that fits lifestyle and time needs. Let’s make this a month to revel in our art–to read and write poetry!

What are you doing to make April a celebration of poetry?

12 thoughts on “Monday Meanderings: What’s Special about April?

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    A fine kick-off for Poetry Month and perhaps we can let folks know what we are doing for the month on Bardo, especially inviting participation in “A Poem in Your Pocket Day” on April 24.

    April showers bring beautiful poems. I like that you are doing a poem-a-day for the month. Bravo!

    Warmest regards and sending metta to you and your friend as you walk through this time. xo

    Like

  2. Best of luck and happy poeming for April, Victoria. I hope you will make it to the end this time. Short forms are very helpful if you are lagging. With poetry I am a speedy Gonzales.. can churn poems out at a rate of knots… but with the rest of my life I am a very very slow tortoise.:) Thank you for your visits.

    Like

  3. kamana says:

    i am no poet and i have no real understanding of the craft, but i enjoy trying my hand at it. i did my first napowrimo last year and was happy that i at least wrote something everyday. the results i wasnt happy with, but at least it was a start. so this year too, thats what i am hoping – to write and share 30 in 30, to get into the habit of writing everyday, and if in the process i can come up with something good, i will be thrilled.

    Like

  4. Fourth year in a row now. For some reason this year I cannot get my blog on to Napowrimo or Poetic Asides so I will use some of their prompts and this year I am going to write mostly in form because I need the practice. Good luck to everyone who is going to participate . Happy poeming !

    Like

  5. I usually write at least 30 limericks a month. Of course, I don’t get around to publishing that many. Once I’ve written it one, I’m often annoyed by the ministerial act of posting it on my blog. Weird, huh?

    Like

  6. I’ll be checking in with you. I’m continuing my poem a day project for the whole year, and will be sharing some of the (hopefully) better ones. I’ll be sharing some other poetry-related things that I enjoy in April.

    Like

  7. Raven Spirit says:

    What beautifully expressed thoughts.

    Like

  8. M. J. Joachim says:

    April is going to be such a big month, what with being National Poetry Month and the start of the A – Z April Blogging Challenge. Should be lots of people buzzing and visiting blogs…a great month to be a blogger. So much fun. Just can’t wait for it all to begin!

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

    Like

  9. jmgoyder says:

    I am finally beginning to write again!

    Like

  10. Angela says:

    Like you, Victoria, I have attempted NaPoWriMo for the last 3 years and never got to the end. I have consoled my ‘poet-self’ with the reminder of my belief that poetry ebbs and flows with the wax and wane of our souls – so to try to push poetry out in a time when the soul is in ebb is like trying to push out the tide when it wants to come in. 🙂 (this is what I tell myself anyway!).
    But, like you, I shall do it again this year because I do write more poems in April.
    Best of luck with it, but first and foremost, may you just enjoy hearing the voice of your soul in your poems. 🙂

    Like

  11. I will muddle through as usual. Bon courage, Victoria.

    Like

  12. abdulwajidck says:

    For me April first is day to hear some bad news, for all these bygine years I had to witness at least a sorrow face on this very day of April FOOOL. This year, I am planning to sleep it of
    Check out my blog at http://abdulwajidck.wordpress.com

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

